 |
01-12-2008, 02:01 AM
|
#1
|
|
1st Gear Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 35
Car: e34 530i
|
Internet Scam or Deal of a lifetime??an e-46 with 110k for 6500??!?!?
hey guys
i saw this add on lespac for a 2002 325 with ac shitzner 18s beige leather interior accident free for the price of 6500$!!!at first i thought it was mistake so i emailed the guy(he didnt leave a number)..i went back to check a couple hours later and the ad was gone the guy emailed me back and left me this message
Hi,
It is in awesome condition, immaculate exterior, no scratches or dents, never involved in accidents and the engine runs great. All
maintenance done by dealer - records available. Spotless clean interior, never smoked in, no kids or pets.It has 110000 kms
and the price is $6500.Unfortunately, my life got complicated and I have to let this beauty go.
The transaction will be made through eBay Company for our own protection. You will have 7 days to inspect and test drive it upon arrival with no obligation to buy.Should the car not be exactly as described, you can cancel the deal, and get a full refund of your money. If you wish to go on, please get back to me and give me your full name and your address. I am waiting for your response with any questions you may have.[/i][/i]
TO me, it sounds like a scam..but if ot its the deal of a lifetime...what do you think???
|
|
|
01-12-2008, 02:26 AM
|
#2
|
|
MaXsponsor
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 14,164
Car: 330ci SC, M5 Touring
|
It has SCAM writen all over it. No doubt, dont waste your time...
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X5 M3 M5
Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
|
|
|
01-12-2008, 04:17 AM
|
#3
|
|
1st Gear Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 35
Car: e34 530i
|
broken dreams
|
|
|
01-12-2008, 06:10 PM
|
#4
|
|
4th Gear Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Newmarket, Ontario
Posts: 698
Car: Gettin One Soon
|
call him and be like i got a buddy in the are that wants to go check out the car, see what he says. But yah its a scam
__________________
1995 E36 318is
Engine Mods: 94 M50 motor, Lightweight Flywheel, SACH clutch, UUC shifter, Electric Fan, Header and Full Exhaust, Magnaflow muffler, CAI, Racing Dynamics Chip
Exterior Mods: M3 spoiler ( Not installed yet), Projector Headlights, M3 mirrors.
Suspension Mods: Front Strut bar, Eibach spings, Billstein Struts.
Interior Mods: M3 buckets, Reverse Glow gauges, Momo steering wheel, M3 Shift Knob, M3 Headliner
|
|
|
01-13-2008, 02:16 AM
|
#5
|
|
if I lived . I would be ~
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,803
Car: e30 with e91 beater
|
Identity theft. That's why he's asking for your full name and address.
__________________
|
|
|
01-13-2008, 02:57 AM
|
#6
|
|
Driving in the fast lane
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Missed in 'sauga
Posts: 2,926
Car: e38 Sport, e63
|
Bingo!
__________________
'04 645cic (for sale)
'05 GMC Sierra SLT Z71 CCSB 4x4
'02 Regal LS
'00 740i Sport
'06 330cic vert ZHP (sold)
'00 323i (sold)
'99 328cic vert (sold)
|
|
|
01-15-2008, 12:32 PM
|
#7
|
|
1st Gear Newbie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 35
Car: e34 530i
|
Its official...its a scam! I asked the guy for the VIN and he gave me a audi 2004 VIN lool...i told him to **** off and that he owed me 2 grand for wasting my time lol...anyways people be careful with frauds n shit i know people that robbed they own mama
|
|
|
01-15-2008, 12:36 PM
|
#8
|
|
3rd Gear Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Barrhaven
Posts: 438
Car: Formerly a '97 540I6
|
A coworker got hit with the exact same scam last year for Cup Finals tickets. Beware, beware, beware.
|
|
|
01-15-2008, 06:29 PM
|
#9
|
|
6th Gear Member
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,530
Car: Car
|
There is one guy who keeps posting good cars worth $15-$30K for $6K-$13K.
He mostly puts ads in Kijiji (London, Toronto, Kitchener, Montreal, Edmonton, Ottawa).
All his prices are in the $7,000 range.
Most of the pictures are stolen from cars actually listed in Florida or Texas. Sometimes he messes up, and puts the VIN number in his posts (obvious copy and paste). If you google the VIN, it usually comes up with the real ad in Florida, or Carfax, which indicates which dealer has it.
If you tell him, forget about shipping etc, I'll fly over and just buy the car in person. He won't answer.
If you see such cars, report to Kijiji. They have a "Report illegal/infringing Ad" button for each ad.
http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=100079
Last edited by dtthiaga; 01-15-2008 at 07:38 PM.
|
|
|
01-16-2008, 09:52 PM
|
#10
|
|
6th Gear Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,947
Car: 08 Civic
|
^^^ Ditto, no phone number no nothing, too good to be true, your car is in a container in Nigeria you can pay me by escrow and I will ship it...scam
oh and watch it with the ones that say, it's on ebay with a buy it now price of... If you look on the thread dtthiaga just posted, I got hit with one.. unreal how the ebay page is..
__________________

1994 318is-Sold July 13th 2010.. Sad Sad Day
|
|
|
01-19-2008, 02:39 AM
|
#11
|
|
6th Gear Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,018
Car: 318T
|
www.cqlights.ca possible scam!! there site has been hacked ... I hope I still get my lights or im out 165 bucks
|
|
|
01-19-2008, 12:20 PM
|
#12
|
|
if I lived . I would be ~
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,803
Car: e30 with e91 beater
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BearsBmr
www.cqlights.ca possible scam!! there site has been hacked ... I hope I still get my lights or im out 165 bucks
|
^^ That sucks. Hope they didn't keep your credit card on file. Jeopardy likely just jacked apache, since they're running Apache/1.3.39 and there were security concerns with that version.
But still, they may have got root on that machine. I'd keep a careful eye on your credit card #.
__________________
|
|
|
01-25-2008, 01:41 PM
|
#13
|
|
6th Gear Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,018
Car: 318T
|
well turns out customs likes to hold thing's back sometimes ... however I got my HID kit today from cqlight.ca and Im realy realy impressed ... lights look realy good... everything in the kit was plug and play + it came with a inline fuse and relay to bypass the computer... I highly recomend this product and it only took me 20 mins to install ... 170$ was the total shiped to the door ... they offer group buys
|
|
|
01-25-2008, 04:33 PM
|
#14
|
|
6th Gear Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,583
Car: MK4 Jetta TDI
|
I saw an ad on Kijiji for a 2000 M roadster for $5000, yes, 5g's!
I knew it was a scam right away so i decided i'd have some fun and **** with the selller. He tells me that the cars in New York, so if i pay the shipping, which he already paid for as a deposit, i can then see the car. HAH!
So i send him an email telling him i'm a truck driver and most of my business is done in NY state, so i can check out the car in person, no problem. He then tells me the car is actually in St. John's canada. Backpeddling, so i laugh and tell him he should get a real job instead of scamming on Kijiji.
He then sends this:
RE: Reply to your "2000 Z3 BMW M Roadster Estoril Blue" Ad on Kijiji
From: Andrea Mcdonalds (mcdonalds.andrew@yahoo.ca)
be carefull, i am a terrorist scammer, i can find out where you live and i will send you anthrax through your mail in an envelope.i hope you die bitch!
I just wonder how old these guys/kids are that try to pull this shit, and i wonder if it ever actually works!?
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Rate This Thread |
Linear Mode
|
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is On
|
|
|
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:01 AM.
|