Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2007, 05:03 PM   #1
ClayMan
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,614
Dealer flash ECU software?

Are dealers willing to flash engine software? Say, from M52 to S52 (same DME). Any idea how much they would charge?

I know they charge 1/2 hour labour to do a EWS resync...
ClayMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 05:37 PM   #2
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,697
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
probably cheaper to buy a M3 ecu

your S52 will run fine with a m52 computer.
__________________
d1s bulb canada

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
hid headlights hid kit
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 07:33 PM   #3
ClayMan
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,614
it starts and idles, but giving it any gas (even just a couple thousand rpm's) and then it'll struggle and die. then you gotta wait a while before it'll start again..
ClayMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 07:56 PM   #4
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,924
Send a message via ICQ to ZiMMie Send a message via MSN to ZiMMie
i doubt its the ecu.
i know of an s52 running around with an M52 DME.
it makes less pwr, but its 100% driveable.
__________________


www.StanceFactory.com
ZiMMie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 08:43 PM   #5
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,697
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
yeah, jon's car runs on a m52 ecu, he has a s52.

i have a m52 in my car, running stock s52 software.
__________________
d1s bulb canada

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
hid headlights hid kit
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:18 PM   #6
Michel
6th Gear Member
 
Michel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 1,608
^ sorry for going on a tangent, but will running s52 softwarre of m52 make a difference? if so wat does it do?
Michel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2007, 11:45 PM   #7
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,697
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
beats the motor a little harder, 7K redline, 250km/h top speed limiter
__________________
d1s bulb canada

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
hid headlights hid kit
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 06:30 PM   #8
ClayMan
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by propr'one View Post
yeah, jon's car runs on a m52 ecu, he has a s52.

i have a m52 in my car, running stock s52 software.
haha, shoudln't you guys trade ECUs?

My S52 with M52 software starts and idles fine; but if I rev it too much, it then stalls. Then it won't start for awhile unless I hold down the throttle. At first I thought it was the software, but if you guys are running around daily with the wrong software, then it must be soemthing else..

Could it be because I'm temporarily using the restrictive stock M50 (325is) muffler? (causing too much backpressure -> stall ?)
ClayMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 06:33 PM   #9
98Dinan3
6th Gear Member
 
98Dinan3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 2,586
Send a message via MSN to 98Dinan3
I'd guess Vac leak or ICV issue if it starts, but stalls.
__________________
98Dinan3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2007, 07:13 PM   #10
ClayMan
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98Dinan3 View Post
I'd guess Vac leak or ICV issue if it starts, but stalls.
Will check those again. Thing is, it will idle seemingly "forever", and very smoothly at that.. Until you rev it up for a bit and drop back to idle.. Then it will die. Then it will have trouble starting, unless you wait awhile.

Which leads me to the hypothesis that it's having trouble pushing out exhaust at higher revs.. So there is excess fuel (rich condition) leading to the stall upon decel, and the fuel is still there so you can't restart the engine right away.

Pure conjecture though. I didn't know a 325is exhaust would be THAT restrictive...
ClayMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 04:49 PM   #11
ClayMan
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,614
Seems fine now, turns out the mechanic forgot to plug the air hose into the intake elbow!
ClayMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2007, 05:24 PM   #12
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,764
Then Dave was exactly right. Vaccuum leak, and for the record your symptoms are almost always a sign of that.

Jay
__________________

@stancejay
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2007, 03:47 AM   #13
///M POWER
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: GTA
Posts: 471
^^^ To OP....I just got my '03 M3 back from Parkview BMW...had a huge inspection on the car (Cert. Series) replaced a few things, including reprogramming DME with updates etc...was a 4 hour process (as per Shop foreman) it was suppose to be charged @ $110 per/hr...but that was taken care of...not sure the length of time for M52 to S52..might wanna call and check.
///M POWER is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.