Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2007, 08:37 PM   #1
sicilianace
E-thirtysexer
 
sicilianace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, On
Posts: 343
Send a message via ICQ to sicilianace
Wiring 2- 4ohm subs to a 2-channel amp.???

guys, is this okay to do, i have a 2 channel amp but can i wire my 2- 4ohm subs Rated (150 rms each) to the one channel only.....so i get more wattage ??????

amplifier info: 97wRMS x 2channels @ 4ohms
142wRMS x 2 channels @ 2ohms
283wRMS x 1 channel @ 4ohms

thanks, help
__________________
e30 m3
e36 coupe
sicilianace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:24 PM   #2
archrival
E36 Addict
 
archrival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Norwood, Ontario
Posts: 550
is the amp bridgeable if so then yes you are safe...im guessing since you have the ratings then it is
archrival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 10:38 PM   #3
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,922
Send a message via ICQ to ZiMMie Send a message via MSN to ZiMMie
283wRMS x 1 channel @ 4ohms
so that means that amp can push over 500RMS @ 2ohms.
since u r not going to be running the amp @ full all the time,
wire the subs into a 2ohm load and feed it to the amp Bridged.

Post the model # of the amp.
and ill let u know how far u can push it to.

Remember its always better the feed the subs more power then less power.
__________________


www.StanceFactory.com
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2007, 11:21 PM   #4
sicilianace
E-thirtysexer
 
sicilianace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Richmond Hill, On
Posts: 343
Send a message via ICQ to sicilianace
Wiring 2- 4ohm subs to a 2-channel amp.???

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZiMMie View Post
283wRMS x 1 channel @ 4ohms
so that means that amp can push over 500RMS @ 2ohms.
since u r not going to be running the amp @ full all the time,
wire the subs into a 2ohm load and feed it to the amp Bridged.

Post the model # of the amp.
and ill let u know how far u can push it to.

Remember its always better the feed the subs more power then less power.
Zimmie, its a infinity amp model #7520A
__________________
e30 m3
e36 coupe
sicilianace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.