Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2007, 07:14 PM   #1
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,946
Send a message via ICQ to ZiMMie Send a message via MSN to ZiMMie
Educate me on S50 Cams.

If u were to upgrade an m50 cam to ones from S50's wat else need to be changed apart from the cams?
Does the lifters has to be changed too?
Wat else is needed for the swap?
__________________
#E36-S54 #CSLWannabe
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 10:33 PM   #2
thinair
moderationistismingly
 
thinair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bradford, ON
Posts: 8,794
Send a message via MSN to thinair
All you need are the cams. I swapped S52 cams into my 328 a couple years ago, nothing else was changed, no issues. You CAN change out the springs, but it's not superly necessary.
__________________
"Driving is like a narcotic, an addiction that can take over lives. It ruins people, breaks families apart, and even kills. Itís habit that needs to be fueled. Time, money, rationality, sweat, knuckle skin, and anyone who disapproves are of little importance to a driver, and are often overlooked. Hi, Iím Nelson, and Iím a drivaholic."
thinair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 10:12 AM   #3
ScotcH
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,871
Software of course.
__________________
2007 BMW 328Xi Touring, 6 speed
ScotcH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 03:25 PM   #4
thinair
moderationistismingly
 
thinair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bradford, ON
Posts: 8,794
Send a message via MSN to thinair
Software isn't really required. I've run my cams without cam specific software for a while now. Although it will boost some midrange torque with software that was more then likely lost with the installation of the cams.
__________________
"Driving is like a narcotic, an addiction that can take over lives. It ruins people, breaks families apart, and even kills. Itís habit that needs to be fueled. Time, money, rationality, sweat, knuckle skin, and anyone who disapproves are of little importance to a driver, and are often overlooked. Hi, Iím Nelson, and Iím a drivaholic."
thinair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 11:39 AM   #5
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,946
Send a message via ICQ to ZiMMie Send a message via MSN to ZiMMie
thanx
wat other options do i have if i dont find M3 cams?
is there any aftermarket companies out there that makes performance cams for N/A m50 for a reasonable price?
__________________
#E36-S54 #CSLWannabe
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 11:50 AM   #6
Dr. Flyview
Formerly Flav_cool
 
Dr. Flyview's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,367
Send a message via MSN to Dr. Flyview
Do you have a m50 vanos or non-vanos? For the non-vanos I'm pretty sure you can't put M3 cams on it.
__________________

1998 BMW 328is - summer
1994 BMW 325i - daily
1992 BMW 325i - totaled
1988 Mercedes Benz 190E 2.3-8V -
sold

Dr. Flyview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 11:53 AM   #7
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,946
Send a message via ICQ to ZiMMie Send a message via MSN to ZiMMie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flav_cool
Do you have a m50 vanos or non-vanos? For the non-vanos I'm pretty sure you can't put M3 cams on it.
its a vanos motor.
__________________
#E36-S54 #CSLWannabe
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 12:24 PM   #8
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,753
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
^^flav you're right, but i believe there are RD cams for non-vanos motors.
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 12:29 PM   #9
Dr. Flyview
Formerly Flav_cool
 
Dr. Flyview's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,367
Send a message via MSN to Dr. Flyview
I was just on understeer.com looking at the blue m3...and check this out:

Quote:
Before the Schrick cams my M3 dynoed at 232.2 RWHP with 219.7 ft/lbs of torque. After the Schrick cams, new Conforti "cams" chip and 24# injectors the dyno numbers reached 242.3 RWHP and 228.3 ft/lbs of torque.
He got a mere 9hp and 9ft/lb of torque increase with all that?!
__________________

1998 BMW 328is - summer
1994 BMW 325i - daily
1992 BMW 325i - totaled
1988 Mercedes Benz 190E 2.3-8V -
sold

Dr. Flyview is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 12:30 PM   #10
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,753
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
well flav, you have to ask yourself, what does he have done to that M3 to dyno at 240rwhp anyway?

different mods work together differently. Although i'd agree, 9hp, albeit 9rwhp, seems a small reward for 1200$ cams, and tuning.
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 03:14 PM   #11
thinair
moderationistismingly
 
thinair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bradford, ON
Posts: 8,794
Send a message via MSN to thinair
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flav_cool
I was just on understeer.com looking at the blue m3...and check this out:
He got a mere 9hp and 9ft/lb of torque increase with all that?!
For him to have 232rwhp, he's no where near stock already, stock is 195-205rwhp


Other cam options are non-m schrick cams, cat cams, etc. M3 cams are definately your cheapest option.
__________________
"Driving is like a narcotic, an addiction that can take over lives. It ruins people, breaks families apart, and even kills. Itís habit that needs to be fueled. Time, money, rationality, sweat, knuckle skin, and anyone who disapproves are of little importance to a driver, and are often overlooked. Hi, Iím Nelson, and Iím a drivaholic."
thinair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2007, 08:10 PM   #12
uber e36
6th Gear Member
 
uber e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,051
Zimmie - I'm doing the swap this spring. You can pick up S50 cams on Bfc for ~$300.

I'm also doing 3.5" intake path and 24lb injectors...
__________________
Daily: '06 S4
Wife: '05 X5 4.4i
Fun: '95 325is
uber e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2007, 09:55 AM   #13
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,946
Send a message via ICQ to ZiMMie Send a message via MSN to ZiMMie
Quote:
Originally Posted by uber e36
Zimmie - I'm doing the swap this spring. You can pick up S50 cams on Bfc for ~$300.

I'm also doing 3.5" intake path and 24lb injectors...
unfortunetly there is nothing on there now.

Can someone confrim this, I read somewhere that, S52 cams will work in a M50 if i use the same cam trays. True?
__________________
#E36-S54 #CSLWannabe
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2007, 11:24 PM   #14
b_w.
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 87
i think with obd1 you need the software...the only reason you can get away with stock software with obd2 is cause of the adaptaion capacity of the ecu
b_w. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2007, 10:15 PM   #15
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,946
Send a message via ICQ to ZiMMie Send a message via MSN to ZiMMie
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZiMMie
unfortunetly there is nothing on there now.

Can someone confrim this, I read somewhere that, S52 cams will work in a M50 if i use the same cam trays. True?
Bump!
__________________
#E36-S54 #CSLWannabe
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014