Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2002, 11:41 AM   #1
AcidSnow
Boss of Bosses
 
AcidSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Guelph
Posts: 684
Forum hang

just wonderig if anyone else has experienced this lately. after going to http://www.maxbimmer.com and clicking on the forum link, I only have about 30-45 sec. untill no more links work. I can go into any thread, but after having the browser open for more then 45 sec. I just get no more responses from max no matter what I do. I have to close the browser, and if I open it again, it works for about 45 sec. again. I have had no problems with any other site.

here is what I have WinXp, running latest version of IE, and SP1. and a cable modem, connect through a broadband router.
AcidSnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 11:56 AM   #2
tlaselva
1800+ HP Driveway
 
tlaselva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 2,695
Send a message via MSN to tlaselva
Ur not the only one.
Exact same thing happens to me.

Did the usual stuff to resolve to no effect.

I also running WIN XP w/SP1, IE6 w/sp1, accessing through Rogers cable. Going to try to see going on MaxBimmer at home with my Win98 PC running IE5.5 to see if it also suffers the same effect.
__________________
2011 X5 M-Sport 3.5i

2010 Dodge Ram Hemi Sport

2010 GSX-R 750

2003 C5 Z06
LS7 427CI w/ECS Novi 2000 : Caravaggio Widebody and Full Leather & Alcantra Interior
903rwhp/815rwtq : 10.3@152mph
tlaselva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 12:03 PM   #3
AcidSnow
Boss of Bosses
 
AcidSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Guelph
Posts: 684
I tried the forum on a Win95 machine with dial-up, and its fine, this is the only way I was able to post this message.
AcidSnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 12:12 PM   #4
e36_freak
Mostly absent
 
e36_freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: mississauga canada
Posts: 2,125
Send a message via ICQ to e36_freak Send a message via MSN to e36_freak
interesting........
i am running winxp, latest version of IE.... and going thru rogers cable & a router......
and maxbimmer works just like any other site to me.....
__________________
Life isn't about how many breaths you take, but the moments that takes your breath away.
Giving the government money and power is like giving a teenager whiskey and an M5.

[M]i[K]E[][M]i[K]E[]
e36_freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 12:16 PM   #5
tlaselva
1800+ HP Driveway
 
tlaselva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 2,695
Send a message via MSN to tlaselva
Quote:
Originally posted by AcidSnow
I tried the forum on a Win95 machine with dial-up, and its fine, this is the only way I was able to post this message.
I'm suspecting the issue is connected to IE 6 or Win XP.
When I get home tonight, going to do some testing to see if I can narrow down the issue.
__________________
2011 X5 M-Sport 3.5i

2010 Dodge Ram Hemi Sport

2010 GSX-R 750

2003 C5 Z06
LS7 427CI w/ECS Novi 2000 : Caravaggio Widebody and Full Leather & Alcantra Interior
903rwhp/815rwtq : 10.3@152mph
tlaselva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 12:17 PM   #6
tlaselva
1800+ HP Driveway
 
tlaselva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 2,695
Send a message via MSN to tlaselva
Quote:
Originally posted by e36_freak
interesting........
i am running winxp, latest version of IE.... and going thru rogers cable & a router......
and maxbimmer works just like any other site to me.....
What is your patch level at with IE & XP?
__________________
2011 X5 M-Sport 3.5i

2010 Dodge Ram Hemi Sport

2010 GSX-R 750

2003 C5 Z06
LS7 427CI w/ECS Novi 2000 : Caravaggio Widebody and Full Leather & Alcantra Interior
903rwhp/815rwtq : 10.3@152mph
tlaselva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 12:18 PM   #7
DunDan
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Markham Scarborough
Posts: 502
Yup, there's an odd delay loading all the pictures from the first page. Try bookmarking to directly to the forum page (That's what I do).

I'm using:
WinXP Pro
Rogers Cable
Router

BTW, Does anyone have solutions to using Windows Update behind a router?
__________________
BMW E36 Montreal Blue
DunDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 03:40 PM   #8
Bliss
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 3,326
Was this the case with our old server as well?
__________________


For maXbimmer decals, please email info@maxbimmer.com
Bliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 05:17 PM   #9
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,516
I'm running WinXp IE6 with SP1 on Rogers Cable and I got no problem whatsoever.
SickFinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 05:21 PM   #10
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,516
Actually I just remembered. On old host I actually had some major problems with the FORUM. Never had this problem on new host yet.

Maxbimmer.com worked for me but FORUM wasn't loading at all!!!
I noticed when I removed Automatically Detect Setting in Tools -> Internet Options -> Connections -> Lan settings Forum worked just perfect for me. Sometimes, i dunno why it activates Automatic crap again and I can't surf the FORUM. So I have to turn it off again.

So take a look there, we might have the same problem.


P.S. I only had this on Maxbimmer forum
SickFinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 05:28 PM   #11
Betray
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 4,353
Send a message via ICQ to Betray Send a message via AIM to Betray Send a message via MSN to Betray
no problems here
Betray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 06:55 PM   #12
Kal
maxRealtor
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 3,756
Send a message via MSN to Kal
Quote:
Originally posted by Bliss
Was this the case with our old server as well?
yup

but i found that its not as bad now with the new server

I do believe it has something to do with WinXP...

when i run maxbimmer from my labtop with win 2000 it runs perfect
Kal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 07:10 PM   #13
AcidSnow
Boss of Bosses
 
AcidSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Guelph
Posts: 684
the old server was like that too, but I can't tell when it started happening . . . .
AcidSnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014