Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-23-2006, 06:06 PM   #16
M3ti Compact
Fuel Efficient 318 Member
 
M3ti Compact's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkD
Thanks.

I can also get very good files for Mercedes/Audi/VW from Europe. I've tuned some Kompressor MB cars last year with great results. (plus some Smart cars)

Gary at Upsolute bought the same equipment I use, after first borrowing my programming hardware.

MarkD
So you guys have essentially the same chips?
__________________
M3ti Compact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 06:14 PM   #17
MarkD
Banned
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Your DME!
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ti Compact
So you guys have essentially the same chips?
No, Upsolute is based in Austria and has a network of dealers around the world who load the files they develop. I develop my BMW files here. I can get files for other cars from Europe. Just some of the hardware we both own is similar. That hardware is used to read and write the files to the OBD-II ECU's. I have the ability to custom tune files for certain applications myself, which few others can do as I bought specialised software to do that.

MarkD
MarkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 09:21 PM   #18
rendered
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,746
Go see Rocco at RMP and he'll arrange for the proper flash!

Anything Rocco uses in his personal cars, is the best. period. In my oppinion after seeing the gorgeous rides. and honestly, from my experience and research, his knowledge surpasses any "bmw specialist" I have ever talked to. More than enough to make me feel 150% confident in handing the keys to my $70,000 car over to his shop to work their magic! RMP = Great shop, great team, great work, and the only place I'll take my car to.

Upsolute: You can't go wrong for the prices! we should all be doing this mod, as the gains are incredible for the money spent.


Giac is at least $900.

From what I hear, upsolute is a lot more affordable.
rendered is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 11:44 PM   #19
Striker
Turbo Ready
 
Striker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by rendered
Go see Rocco at RMP and he'll arrange for the proper flash!

Anything Rocco uses in his personal cars, is the best. period. In my oppinion after seeing the gorgeous rides. and honestly, from my experience and research, his knowledge surpasses any "bmw specialist" I have ever talked to. More than enough to make me feel 150% confident in handing the keys to my $70,000 car over to his shop to work their magic! RMP = Great shop, great team, great work, and the only place I'll take my car to.

Upsolute: You can't go wrong for the prices! we should all be doing this mod, as the gains are incredible for the money spent.


Giac is at least $900.

From what I hear, upsolute is a lot more affordable.

Could be true but I guess you really don't know Mark. He actually WRITES software for his OBDI chips. When a guy is completely verse about tuning software as Mark is, there is no better comparason. It simply means that a tuning software specialist understands every 0 and 1 in that OBDII file.

Mark is not a mechanic, he is a software expert and the question was related
to a brand of chip/DME software utilized for tuning so we have to compare mangoes and mangoes here.

Buying software and loading it is one thing, but buying it, understanding it, debugging it and making sure it does what it's supposed to, is a different dance alltogeather.

I think Mark is the best in his class hands down, and I am sure lots would agree, software to that guy is playdough to a kid. Mark is a very brilliant sucker, he is all brains and many have tons of respect for him because of his ability and personality.
__________________


SPEED AND POWER IS NOTHING WITHOUT CONTROL,
THANK HITLER, BMW HAS ALL THREE

Last edited by Striker; 03-02-2006 at 11:49 PM.
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 11:49 PM   #20
RMPMOTORS
MaXsponsor
 
RMPMOTORS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Etobicoke, Ontario
Posts: 1,422
I would say a custom chip from Mark is excellent for people that want or need special custom tuned chips, that he can tune at a dyno / on the street for the customer. The Upsolute chips are custom to a certain point, with different files for what modifications are done to your car!

To Mark and Upsolute

Both great software upgrades..
__________________

Eibach-Koni-Bilstein-H&R-Powerflex-KW Suspension-OEM Parts+ MORE
EUROPEAN AUTO SERVICE & PERFORMANCE

www.RMPMOTORS.com

www.Facebook.com/RMPMotors
RMPMOTORS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 11:50 PM   #21
shimajer
loudddddd
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: at home
Posts: 2,954
^^ and to RMP
shimajer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 11:58 PM   #22
Striker
Turbo Ready
 
Striker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,651
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMPMOTORS
I would say a custom chip from Mark is excellent for people that want or need special custom tuned chips, that he can tune at a dyno / on the street for the customer. The Upsolute chips are custom to a certain point, with different files for what modifications are done to your car!

To Mark and Upsolute

Both great software upgrades..

You are a good, great, honest mate Very few business people are like you.
__________________


SPEED AND POWER IS NOTHING WITHOUT CONTROL,
THANK HITLER, BMW HAS ALL THREE
Striker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 09:48 PM   #23
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,695
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
Bump for both Rocco and Mark. Rocco works on my car (a little too) often, and mark has helped me with quite a few issues. Both of thier knowledge of cars and tuning of cars is amazing.

From what i personally found, and i encourage everyone to get their own quotes, for OBD1 cars, markD's EAT chips are a little less expensive. For OBDII cars, RMP's Upsolute or techn9ne software is less expensive.

good luck


I may end up getting a chip, we'll see. (i have an apexi air/fuel system, which is capable of replacing a chip, however even with such a piggyback, chips do yield gains)
__________________
d1s bulb canada

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
hid headlights hid kit
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 07:38 AM   #24
tominizer
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wooda-bridga
Posts: 2,284
I sold my A4 and now have a 2001 A6 2.7T.......... with Upsolute programming.......... again. Very pleased.
tominizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 04:22 PM   #25
vadim321go
6th Gear Member
 
vadim321go's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 1,581
can a 325i made in 02-95 be chipped? cause iv tried before and it has not worked. i have a silver label on my dme. does mine need to be flashed?
__________________
Proud owner of a 95 325i
vadim321go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 05:15 PM   #26
MarkD
Banned
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Your DME!
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by vadim321go
can a 325i made in 02-95 be chipped? cause iv tried before and it has not worked. i have a silver label on my dme. does mine need to be flashed?
You need a chip, but it's a specific one. The chip from the red-brown label 413 won't work.
MarkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.