Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2006, 01:29 AM   #1
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
another weird problem (MSN Messsenger)



Okay, I can't log onto msn. It says it cannot connect to the server.

I have all the correct ports open, and the computer that its on is a DMZ host. MSN logs on to all the other computer's on the network except this one.

Its not the account either since my friend cannot log on this computer either, but can with the other computers.

I've tried logging on with different kinds of MSN (Windows messenger, MSN Messenger 7.5, and Windows Live messenger) all have the same problem.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 01:43 AM   #2
Betray
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 4,353
Send a message via ICQ to Betray Send a message via AIM to Betray Send a message via MSN to Betray
windows firewall maybe blocking it? any weird software maybe blocking those ports? try webmessenger on it too
Betray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 01:48 AM   #3
rodo
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: oakville, ontario, canada
Posts: 4,203
i duno if its related to your problem, but i can only log on msn right now but it signs off after a few seconds displaying some sort of error
__________________
2010 328i

2010 Expedition


Objects in mirror are farther than they appear Only in a BMW

rodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 01:54 AM   #4
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by Betray
windows firewall maybe blocking it? any weird software maybe blocking those ports? try webmessenger on it too
its not windows firewall, it still does it with it off.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 02:46 AM   #5
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,659
dunno if you fixed it but my msn is working on both my desktop and iBook
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 02:55 AM   #6
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
its definately not an MSN network problem I have MSN working on two other computers, but not this one particular computer.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 03:13 AM   #7
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,659
try making it so the one your on, is not a dmz host...

BTW what router Julian? wish thinair was on, he knows networking a lil too much
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 03:40 AM   #8
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
..

Hey Julian,

Having a host on the DMZ basically exposes that system on the web, all ports are opened. You could try Port Forwarding which is more secure since you filter ports and still have it exposed on the web.
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 03:45 AM   #9
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
...

check your msn connection settings and make sure you don't have any proxy settings applied. everything should be blank.
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 04:03 AM   #10
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
everything is blank. no proxies.

btw, your mom cut my hair last week
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 04:14 AM   #11
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
...

she told me you stopped by... i told her to give you a special cut for next time.

btw, did you use a static IP for the host on the DMZ? DHCP can still be enabled for your internal LAN, just pick one IP from that range and exclude it from the DHCP range.
you could also play with the UPNP option (similar to auto port forwarding) if you have it. there are some security concerns, only use it for troubleshooting.
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 04:20 AM   #12
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
...

does your router/firewall have logging enabled? normally this would tell you which packet(s) were dropped and by what service (port).
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 04:35 AM   #13
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
I checked the log, there were some packets being blocked by that particular computer, I unblocked that port, but still the same result.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 04:58 AM   #14
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,776
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
didn't read everything, but make sure your system time is correct (month/year/day etc)

if its off, the certificate wont pass, and it wont log you in
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 06:03 AM   #15
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by proprone
didn't read everything, but make sure your system time is correct (month/year/day etc)

if its off, the certificate wont pass, and it wont log you in

I can't believe that was the problem, that is the single most retarded thing ever.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015