Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2006, 07:11 AM   #1
Primus
super blinger
 
Primus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: southside niagara region
Posts: 524
can i put a 120v object into my car?



is there a way that i can wire up a 120volt object to perminantly run in my car?
i want to put 2 luminglas lightning storms beside my subs for a visual effect but cant seem to find them in 12v car application

heres what i want to put in my truck...seems they only come in 120V AC but ive personally seen them in cars and limo's so how can i make this work?

these items actaully are 12v ac, they come with an inverter for 120v AC to 12v AC... does this help my situation?

Last edited by Primus; 01-18-2006 at 07:38 AM.
Primus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 10:23 AM   #2
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,842
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
If they're 120-> 12V, rip out the inverter, power em from car power. that's ideal. Otherwise you'd need an inverter to step up the voltage from 12->120. but the problem with that is, you'll be stepping up 12 V to 120V then back to 12V. Power loss, heat and inefficiency. If you're gonna go the easy way and have the power converted twice, use like a 250 watt converter
__________________
I run a canadian led kit & hid kit company, if you have any questions about led headlights or hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
Fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black, ohlins, pazzo, cat delete, vance hines csone, YEC racing tune
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 12:50 PM   #3
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
now its not too big for your avatar
Attached Images
File Type: jpg smaller.jpg (2.8 KB, 48 views)
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 03:08 PM   #4
Justin e36
---
 
Justin e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: etobicoke
Posts: 12,331
Send a message via ICQ to Justin e36 Send a message via AIM to Justin e36 Send a message via Yahoo to Justin e36
My guess is that you meant that the appliance takes 120VAC

The problem is that a car battery puts out 12VDC

Because there is not only a different voltage, but also you different form of current (needs alternating current, gets direct current), you need what is called an inverter. It takes DC and turns it into AV. They are very common and most are made for that specific purpose and go from 12VDC to 120VAC @ 60Hz.

Most automotive inverters plug into a cigarette lighter and have standard 120V 60Hz wall plugs for output. You can then plug in any standard home appliance or such into the inverter.

special note:

Most appliances that use AC input (like 9VAC or 12VAC) will *usually* work with a DC input voltage.
The reason is that *usually* the AC gets rectified into DC inside the appliance anyways.

You could try feeding it 12V DC and see if it works.
It shouldn't hurt anything,and it doesn't matter which wire is + or -,because the rectifier inside will "fix" the polarity for you.

This is assuming a full-wave bridge rectifier... if it's just a simple diode or half wave, it just won't work one way, swap the power wires around and try again, it should work.

95% of the time DC will work just fine, but I make no guarantees.
Justin e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 04:01 PM   #5
Primus
super blinger
 
Primus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: southside niagara region
Posts: 524
yeah i was hoping because there 12volts AC that 12volts DC would work somehow!
Primus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015