Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2006, 10:44 PM   #1
PelicanGolf2
Stuck in traffic
 
PelicanGolf2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Burlington
Posts: 367
Lightbulb SI battery re-wire OMG it efin works

So driving home tonight, sitting in traffic, I got pissed off at looking at a half lighted cluster with no Tach, econometer and Temp Gauge. So when I got hme I decided to pull the cluster change the light bulb and attempt the replace the SI bateries. I did have the replacement bulbs(long life) and a new battery tray I picked up for an electronics store on Matheson @ Dixie.

The bitch of it all was getting the old batteries out, one had leak acid or alkaline what ever the case may be all over the board, so a clean up was necessary. I soldered 2 sets of speaker wire to the board, it seems that the batteries run parallel and not in series, put the cluster back together, back in the car, attach the battery tray to the leads. Turn the car on and voila!!! working Tachometer, Econometer, and I have yet to see if the Temp gauge works but apperently I need and "Inspection" and an "Oil Service".

Anybody have a service reset tool?
PelicanGolf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 10:57 PM   #2
King Luis
The King.
 
King Luis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milton
Posts: 7,380
Send a message via MSN to King Luis
http://www.bmwe30.net/cgi-bin/datacg...042&Section=02
good to hear you got your dash partly working again.
theres how to reset you lights. use speaker wire.
__________________
Current:2013 Candy White VW Golf TDI
Mods: TBD.

Sold:2004 Silver Gray M3
Mods: Dice Unit, EAS Angel Eyes, Painted Reflectors, CSL Diffuser, Smoked Corners, PSS10s, 15mm Front and 10mm Rear Spacers.

Gone:1990 Brilliantrot 325is
Mods: Alpine speakers and HU, Euro Projectors, Magnaflow Muffler, Euro Smoked Tails and GC Coilovers.
King Luis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 11:36 PM   #3
PelicanGolf2
Stuck in traffic
 
PelicanGolf2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Burlington
Posts: 367
thanks I will try that tomorrow.
PelicanGolf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 12:10 AM   #4
e30_kid89
The Afro-stig
 
e30_kid89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: TDot West End
Posts: 4,598
Send a message via MSN to e30_kid89
mee 2
__________________
e30_kid89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 04:45 AM   #5
BMWags
6th Gear Member
 
BMWags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Niagara Falls, ON
Posts: 2,559
Econometer? that ur gas gauge?....my gas and temp gauges dont work maybe this will help...it could also possibly becuz of the wiring of the engine swap too
BMWags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 10:17 AM   #6
PelicanGolf2
Stuck in traffic
 
PelicanGolf2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Burlington
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWags
Econometer? that ur gas gauge?....my gas and temp gauges dont work maybe this will help...it could also possibly becuz of the wiring of the engine swap too
the econometer is the gauge right underneath the Tach, but with the SI batteries full discharged, my speedo and gas gauge still worked.
PelicanGolf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 12:15 PM   #7
PelicanGolf2
Stuck in traffic
 
PelicanGolf2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Burlington
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by King Luis
http://www.bmwe30.net/cgi-bin/datacg...042&Section=02
good to hear you got your dash partly working again.
theres how to reset you lights. use speaker wire.
Worked good Thanks again.
PelicanGolf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 08:25 PM   #8
e30_kid89
The Afro-stig
 
e30_kid89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: TDot West End
Posts: 4,598
Send a message via MSN to e30_kid89
i tried it and it never worked. do i need more thicker wire cuz i used these thin ass electrial wires..i think imma use speaker wire next time i try it
__________________
e30_kid89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2006, 12:03 AM   #9
PelicanGolf2
Stuck in traffic
 
PelicanGolf2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Burlington
Posts: 367
Both batteries need to be wired up seperately, they run parallel, not in series, so each battery powers different functions on the board. So I am running 2 sets of wires from my cluster
PelicanGolf2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014