Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password

Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 12-22-2005, 03:37 AM   #1
prynce_qt
2nd Gear Member

Need some advice on skiing equipment

I'm fairly new in skiing but I'm pretty good for a beginner, I did tackle the extreme hill at blue mountain last year on first day, lol. Anyways, I want to do more skiing and think it would be better to buy my own skis and save on the rentals. I don't really have a clue what to look into for skiing equipment. So here are so questions from the top of my head, feel free to add some additional advice I've missed.

I'm about 5'9, what length skis should I be buying? I'm not into speed skating, just for casual fun. And what does the different lengths do?

What do I need to know about the shape of the ski? I hear that the top being bigger gives better turns.

What do I need to know about boots? Size compared to shoes, brands, what to look for...

What about bindings? Same as above.

What about poles? Same as above.

What are some good name brands to look for and what to avoid.

Where to buy for good price? How about sportschek and alike?
Old 12-22-2005, 08:55 AM   #2
jstalin
capitalism=crisis

Quote:
Originally Posted by prynce_qt
I'm about 5'9, what length skis should I be buying? I'm not into speed skating, just for casual fun. And what does the different lengths do?