Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2005, 04:50 AM   #1
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,753
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
Arrow propr`one's car (codes help)

Got my car scanned: (thanks rico.r)

got a WHOOOOOLE bunch of errors

SRS codes: 02(8-08) (I also have 11-18 checked off)
11-seat belt buckle switch, passenger
18-seat occupancy detector, passenger
08(or OB) - firing circuit, side airbag, rear right side

(these all re-occur, ie my srs light is on now)

CEL codes: 11 (F6, F5, E6, O2, OC)
F6- secondary air system flow too low, cyl 4-6
F5- secondary air system flow too low, cyl 1-3
E6- pre-cat oxygen sensor response time, cyl 4-6
02- ignition coil, cyl 4 (see below)
OC- throttle position sensor

(once cleared, CEL was off)

i think F6, F5 were due to my air filter being clogged, and e6 was a o2 sensor that i have since replaced

however, my CEL came back on yesterday, and ima get it scanned soon. but what are the last 2 codes? im assuming that 02 is a spark plug (the 4th)

but what is OC - throttle position sensor?

any comments on these codes would be appreciated, included, but not limited to, HAHA YOUR CAR'S BROKEN
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 10:46 AM   #2
cisco911
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,513
Hey Proprone. The coil one is just that. Your 328i has one coil per cylinder (direct coils). One is probably going bad. If you are handy with cars, get it cleared, and flip the coil in the fourth cylinder with another cylinder (like cylinder one). Run the car. When the light comes on again, if you scan it and it says that its the first cylinder, you know you have a coil that is going bad and need to replace it. This is a common problem on E36s. As for the throttle position sensor thing...has anyone been working on your car? I've had that problem before and someone had messed with the little cable on the throttle sensor for the traction control. If that cable is out of place, it would cause that code. I'm not good at explaining things through typing, but hopefully you know what I'm talking about. Take a look and let me know.
__________________
I'm just a crazy m*thrf*cker, livin it up, not givin a f*ck, living life in the fast lane
cisco911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 01:08 PM   #3
qwk325
6th Gear Member
 
qwk325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 1,340
It"s impossible that the car has all these things wrong do you have a chip in the car my first chip gave me the half the codes you have now there was a problem with the chip remember on a computer controlled car one sensor could afect many others.
__________________

COME ON DOWN !!!!
qwk325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 02:55 PM   #4
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,753
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
Cisco911:

Is there any way to just buy a new ignition coil? Do you know how expensive they are? If i were to just try to clean the existing one, what would i clean it with? Where is the throttle sensor cable?

qwk325:

As far as i know the car has never been chipped (im pretty sure it hasent, just based on who the previous owner was). Is there a way to check to be 100% sure it hasen't?
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black

Last edited by propr'one; 12-11-2005 at 03:02 PM.
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 04:17 PM   #5
cisco911
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,513
You can't clean the coil. Its the internals that are starting to go. I think a new one is around $100 list. When I said clean, I meant clean the codes from the computer. Sorry if you misunderstood. Its hard to explain, open the hood and look on the driver side. Its right on the throttle body. You'll see a cable just like an accelerator cable on it. Make sure it is in place. I'm horrible at explaining this stuff, I have to point at it basically...LOL If your in toronto, and are having trouble, let me know, maybe I can take a look for you. Let me know.
__________________
I'm just a crazy m*thrf*cker, livin it up, not givin a f*ck, living life in the fast lane
cisco911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 05:25 PM   #6
rico328i
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Canada - Toronto area
Posts: 982
codes

I'll scan your car again and see what codes show up again. Just let me know when.

Rico
rico328i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 05:44 PM   #7
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,753
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
Awesome rico, thanks, you got PM

i also just looked in bentleys,

Throttle position sensor faulty :
-causes erratic engine idle (i have)
-poor response or acceleration (hard to judge, this is the only 328 i've ever driven)
-erratic engine operation at all speeds (not really)

solution: Test throttle position sensor. How does one test the throttle position sensor?

edit: Just did a search, turns out i need a voltmeter and stuff to test it, which i dont have. Could charlie do this for me? or is there a DIY?
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black

Last edited by propr'one; 12-11-2005 at 05:47 PM.
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 06:42 PM   #8
qwk325
6th Gear Member
 
qwk325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 1,340
The only way to check would be to actually open the ecm and look at eprom chip , or check to see what the rev limiter is normally a chipped car would a higher rev limiter.
__________________

COME ON DOWN !!!!
qwk325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 06:45 PM   #9
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,753
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
Well my car is one of the newer ones that you have to flash, not replace a chip for. But the rev limiter seems to cut off at 6500, which is where is should stock i think.
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 06:48 PM   #10
qwk325
6th Gear Member
 
qwk325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 1,340
Yes its stock . if you want pm me we can rescan the car and try to isolate the problem

P.S I have a a PS foglamp.
__________________

COME ON DOWN !!!!
qwk325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 10:37 PM   #11
cisco911
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,513
it shouldn't have anything to do with the ECM. Your TPS could be screwed, but I find it doubtful. I think there might be another glitch. If both codes come up again, I would fix the coil problem first to get rid of any misfire or hesitation that the car might have because of it and then see if the TPS problem is still there. It could all be related. By solving the coil problem, the TPS might go away as well. Did you check the cable?
__________________
I'm just a crazy m*thrf*cker, livin it up, not givin a f*ck, living life in the fast lane
cisco911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2005, 11:18 PM   #12
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,753
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
I'd like to check the cable but i dont know where it is. Honestly i think your explanation is fine i just dont know where that is. Im not sure where the trottle body is?

like if you know if its like driver side of car, 2 feet in from front bumper, etc i'd take a look, but if its too much trouble dont worry
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 11:12 AM   #13
cisco911
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,513
Okay, I don't know if you have the air filter box or a cold air. But if you follow the intake pipe, you will go from the air filter box to the mass air flow sensor to a black intake pipe to that curves and that is connected to the throttle body(alluminum) and that goes into the intake manifuld. Look on the throttle body on the top of it and you will see a black piece right on top. That is where the cable for the traction is. Make sure it is in place. there is a pic of the engine bay that I found at

http://gabe.ume.maine.edu:16080/play...t_6__2_8L.html

Hope that helps.
On a side note, can anyone explain to me why when I try to add a pic on a post it won't work, it just shows a box with an x??????
__________________
I'm just a crazy m*thrf*cker, livin it up, not givin a f*ck, living life in the fast lane

Last edited by cisco911; 12-12-2005 at 11:15 AM.
cisco911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 12:03 PM   #14
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,753
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
Some pics cannot be linked directly(hotlinked) the refferer URL must be from the same domain they are at. You can always save the image and rehost it on another site, like imageshack.us


Im going to try to find the TPS today see if its in place. On another note, is the TPS from a 92 and a 98 the same? im not sure cause the 92's didn't have traction
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2005, 12:49 PM   #15
cisco911
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: toronto
Posts: 1,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by proprone
Some pics cannot be linked directly(hotlinked) the refferer URL must be from the same domain they are at. You can always save the image and rehost it on another site, like imageshack.us


Im going to try to find the TPS today see if its in place. On another note, is the TPS from a 92 and a 98 the same? im not sure cause the 92's didn't have traction

Note the same. The black unit on top of the throttle body thatyour looking for is specifically for the traction control system.
__________________
I'm just a crazy m*thrf*cker, livin it up, not givin a f*ck, living life in the fast lane
cisco911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014