Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2005, 05:10 PM   #31
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise


i'm fully aware of all of that.... point is, untill yer getting the 6/100 and paying 46/month, you're not on their current extreme servcie.. not saying its your fault, they're just slow...

i didnt notice express was 3mb... so yer obviously not that... yer just the old express, which im not.. so sorry i wasnt aware of it... go 6/100! sucker
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:13 PM   #32
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by koncise
i'm fully aware of all of that.... point is, untill yer getting the 6/100 and paying 46/month, you're not on their current extreme servcie.. not saying its your fault, they're just slow...

i didnt notice express was 3mb... so yer obviously not that... yer just the old express, which im not.. so sorry i wasnt aware of it... go 6/100! sucker
You calling me a sucker????
Well, I got 2 rogers accounts(one is 5/60 another one is 6/100) and sympatico.

WHO IS A SUCKER NOW???!!!!
SickFinga is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:19 PM   #33
Deep 3.2TL
6th Gear Member
 
Deep 3.2TL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Milton
Posts: 3,230
That's why I used 3web! :-)

Cheaper and full service...

Deep
Deep 3.2TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:22 PM   #34
thinair
moderationistismingly
 
thinair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bradford, ON
Posts: 8,798
Send a message via MSN to thinair
I'll keep my Sympatico, no cap (I average out at about 160-180GB/month), I get a solid 4.45Mb/s (540-560KB/s or so) consistantly.

My only complaint is the upload speed, which is usually around 720-760Kb/s (90-95KB/s), and recently they got rid of the modem rental fee waiving option.
__________________
"Driving is like a narcotic, an addiction that can take over lives. It ruins people, breaks families apart, and even kills. Itís habit that needs to be fueled. Time, money, rationality, sweat, knuckle skin, and anyone who disapproves are of little importance to a driver, and are often overlooked. Hi, Iím Nelson, and Iím a drivaholic."
thinair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:23 PM   #35
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deep 323
That's why I used 3web! :-)

Cheaper and full service...

Deep
Full service??
3web resells Rogers and Sympatico.
So forget about any kind of techincal support and you get all the poblems you get with Rogers
SickFinga is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:27 PM   #36
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
Quote:
Originally Posted by SickFinga
You calling me a sucker????
Well, I got 2 rogers accounts(one is 5/60 another one is 6/100) and sympatico.

WHO IS A SUCKER NOW???!!!!
meh.. im sure u pay for them all... so im not gonna congratulate u on anything
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:39 PM   #37
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by koncise
how do u know u get 60gb/month?
checked my internet usage...says maximum allowed is 61440 kB which is 60gB...i did the speed test Vlad posted and my download rate is 4.99Mbps lets just say 5, and my upload is 817kbps...by these figures, yup im on the Extreme package

vlad one thing im confused, wtf does 5/60 and 6/100 represent?
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:39 PM   #38
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by koncise
meh.. im sure u pay for them all... so im not gonna congratulate u on anything

paying only 40 bucks for all 3
SickFinga is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:44 PM   #39
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
how?
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:45 PM   #40
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim .E.
checked my internet usage...says maximum allowed is 61440 kB which is 60gB...
where do i find that?
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:47 PM   #41
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by koncise
how?
simple,
6/100 - business line for DVR, so business pays
5/60 - personal, since I was getting shitty service, im paying $20 a month for 3 months now
symaptico on promotion, $20 a month
SickFinga is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:50 PM   #42
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
fair enough.. so its a temporary thing
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 05:53 PM   #43
sirex
King Sirex
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim .E.
just got off the phone with tech support and i asked them why they are choking P2P packets, turns out there doing it to be "FAIR to everyone on the Rogers network, if the board didnt 'REGULATE' the bandwith then it would stress the network". My response to that was "how is that fair for the people using rogers extreme? we paid extra for the modem so we dont get speeds like the rogers lite people do...if you guys keep choking the packets we should all keep the rogers Extreme modem and then just switch acount to Rogers lite", the guy said "thats possible but i cant do anything about it...if you would like you can e-mail the board at internetsupport@rci.rogers.com and have the issue addressed to them"

this is pissing me off...i cant download shit properly cuz i have to compensate for some fag with rogers lite...

Hey I dont if this is effecting you, but since October 25th my internet usage meter has been ****ed.. So Ive taken the liberty amongst my self to download as much as possible...


as for not downloading properly, its working fine for me....
sirex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 06:02 PM   #44
digiital
5th Gear Member
 
digiital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: On Lake Ontario on my sailboat
Posts: 1,016
Start using BITCOMET and set the headers to encrypted, you will get speeds of well over 200k/sec on torrents.

Setting the headers to encrypted will prevent Rogers and other ISPs from slowing down the packets since they don't know what the traffic is. So they can't slow it down.
__________________
.
** **

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.
Mark Twain
digiital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2005, 06:27 PM   #45
Deep 3.2TL
6th Gear Member
 
Deep 3.2TL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Milton
Posts: 3,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by SickFinga
Full service??
3web resells Rogers and Sympatico.
So forget about any kind of techincal support and you get all the poblems you get with Rogers

Yup - I know that... I've never had it slow down on me, and it's still not slow. I DL GB's all the time...

As for tech support - U think Roger's is any better? I had to tell them what they needed to do half the time!

I've had ZERO issues with 3web and I've been with them about a year now...

I'll stick to paying less and not getting a slow down, thanks.

Deep
Deep 3.2TL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015