Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2005, 12:07 PM   #1
Ital_325i
Lost in a world of Chaos
 
Ital_325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington
Posts: 2,002
Amp/Sub Hookup

Wondering if anyone could hook up an Amp/Sub for me. Already have the wires, just needs to be installed. Aftermarket deck already installed. Looking for someone whos done it before to hook it up. Looking to hook it up ASAP. Car is a 94 325. How much am I looking at? Thanks
Ital_325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 01:28 PM   #2
Nascar318is
6th Gear Member
 
Nascar318is's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,936
Why not do it yourself? It's not that hard to do. Save some $$$. If you were in Ottawa I'd go and do it for you but miss sauga, is a little far for me...sorry.

The process will take about an hour -2 hours depending on how you run your wires.
__________________

1994 318is-Sold July 13th 2010.. Sad Sad Day
Nascar318is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 01:33 PM   #3
ChahalzBMR
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,622
Yeah man, it's not hard. Battery is in the trunk so no worry about running thick wires. Just run RCA's and remote wire from the deck through the middle and under the rear seats. Then put them into them trunk. Just connect the wires to the amp and your done. Make sure you get a good ground for the amp! Tons of places for that in the trunk also.
__________________
91' CRX Turbo - Sold
94' 318i/M50 swap - Sold
95' 325i - Sold
97' Jetta - Sold
2006 Ford Freestyle - Sold
Looking for a E46 (00-04)

Steve
ChahalzBMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 03:11 PM   #4
rad318Ti
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belle River, Ontario.
Posts: 235
Send a message via ICQ to rad318Ti
YA man this is def. a "do it yourself" , You'll be surprised how easy it is.. i just installed a sub n amp n my car last weekend, took me about 30 minutes... no lie, and my battery is at the front of the car...... yours is in rear, even easier... just look on which side its easier to get behind the deck... and your laughin... if i didnt live all the way in windsor i'd come do it...
rad318Ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 03:31 PM   #5
Ital_325i
Lost in a world of Chaos
 
Ital_325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington
Posts: 2,002
Well thanks for the positive words, thought it would be more complicated, but, I'll give it a shot.
Ital_325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 10:02 PM   #6
paul christians
87325is///MR.EVIL
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: ajax
Posts: 7,751
Just take your time on it.............
__________________
87is325///2.7L..EVIL.....
03 beige GRAND AM and 94 white (slamed) PROTEGE
paul christians is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2005, 11:47 PM   #7
notjoe
600rwhp here i come
 
notjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: A Dream World
Posts: 2,718
Send a message via ICQ to notjoe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ital_325i
Well thanks for the positive words, thought it would be more complicated, but, I'll give it a shot.

LMK when you do it and i'll come over and see if i can give you a hand. I did my own install which turned out fairly decently but still needs to be redone.


What kind of hardware did you get?
notjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 12:01 AM   #8
Ital_325i
Lost in a world of Chaos
 
Ital_325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington
Posts: 2,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by notjoe
LMK when you do it and i'll come over and see if i can give you a hand. I did my own install which turned out fairly decently but still needs to be redone.


What kind of hardware did you get?
I got this "AMP wiring kit" Has the block fuse, terminal wire, etc. Just need to find some speaker wire and Im good to go.

Well might get some time to do it Sunday if the weather holds out, if your interested in swinging by, your more than welcome to.

One quick question, to hold the box down, is it alright to just use some velcro to hold it down, or is there a better way to do it? Keep in mind its one 12' in a sealed box, so I dont think it will slid around on the velcro.

Last edited by Ital_325i; 05-12-2005 at 12:04 AM.
Ital_325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 12:07 AM   #9
rad318Ti
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Belle River, Ontario.
Posts: 235
Send a message via ICQ to rad318Ti
^^^^

you will be alright... dont use the velcro cuz trust me it doesnt do much at all... it should stay put if you dont drive like a maniac..... but if you see that the box is sliding or tipping over just install sum L brackets and screw them down to teh floor n box... or you can take the subs out n drill straight through the box on the inside and to the floor..
rad318Ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 12:37 AM   #10
notjoe
600rwhp here i come
 
notjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: A Dream World
Posts: 2,718
Send a message via ICQ to notjoe
I had issues with the box sliding around and damaging shit in the trunk as well as smacking off the tail lights. Not fun.

I ended up gutting my trunk of everything and laying down plywood for now, eventually i'll carpet the board and make everything pretty again and have the sub bolted down to it.

As for you, i think velcro will make a difference assuming the entire surface which sits against the carpet in your trunk was completely covered, but if you do take that corner a little too fast it will slide. Depending on where the amp is mounted we could wedge a board inbetween the wheelwells so you have a soild place to mount it to so you never have to worry.

How much does the box weigh, roughly?
notjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 12:40 AM   #11
notjoe
600rwhp here i come
 
notjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: A Dream World
Posts: 2,718
Send a message via ICQ to notjoe
Oh yeah, PM me with your addy if/when you're ready to do it, maybe the day before
notjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 08:33 AM   #12
Nascar318is
6th Gear Member
 
Nascar318is's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,936
Bolting it down is a good idea, I have 2 10's and the amp is wedged between the 2 box's and the rear of the car. The only down fall for bolting down your box is......don't get a flat, cause that would suck...
__________________

1994 318is-Sold July 13th 2010.. Sad Sad Day
Nascar318is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 11:35 AM   #13
Ital_325i
Lost in a world of Chaos
 
Ital_325i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Burlington
Posts: 2,002
Box weighs maybe around 20lbs or so. I had it in the trunk just to bring it home, and it slid around. I think I might just use some velcro, cause if I need to get at the spare, I'll be spending double the time removing the box with brackets.

notjoe, will pm on sat
Ital_325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 02:28 PM   #14
jeffrie
Addict
 
jeffrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 2,252
velcro holds close to nothing. I used one of thoes rubber carpet mats from crappy tire.
the smooth side sticks to the box well and the bumpy side sticks to the carpet. And I do drive like an Idiot.
__________________
"They say ignorance is bliss..... I don't know what the Fu*k that means but I'm pretty happy". Ricky Trailer Park Boys.


Current Mods....X-Brace, Stromung Cat Back Exhaust, 17/225/45 M3 Replicas, HotBits Adjustable Coil Overs, 40% LSD 3:91 Diff, E30 Gearbox, Boosted.
jeffrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2005, 03:16 PM   #15
Nascar318is
6th Gear Member
 
Nascar318is's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffrie
And I do drive like an Idiot.

No you don't


Velcro would work but it won't stick very well to the carpet and you'd need a peice the size of your box. If you face your box towards you and snug against the back seat you could wedge something inbetween the box and the back of the trunk.

And Jeff is right those plastic mats are good, no sliding and easy to take out incase of a flat or changing your rear shocks and coils
__________________

1994 318is-Sold July 13th 2010.. Sad Sad Day
Nascar318is is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.