Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2005, 12:07 AM   #1
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
Problem with DivX movies



i have the 5.2.1 codec and i jus got Troy, Bourne Supremecy and Manchurian Candidate off my bro's comp...i burnt em to a DVD-R and tried watching em on my laptop (i have a dvd-rw drive in it) and i cant hear any sound...i put the dvd into his laptop and i can hear the sound clearly...i tried WMP10, winamp, divX, ProDVD and none playback sound...i copied the files to the hard drive and still no sound...any ideas?
Jim .E. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 12:34 AM   #2
chia
Keepin' It Fake.
 
chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: St. Catharines/Toronto
Posts: 1,272
maybe they're xvid. what's the complete file name on the movies?
__________________
chia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 12:36 AM   #3
AMG_POWER
500HP Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,691
i cant play .avi for some reason... downloaded hitch movie...
__________________
AMG_POWER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 01:50 AM   #4
rhythm
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: none
Posts: 408
try getting the ac3 codec
rhythm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 10:55 AM   #5
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
yup there all Xvid, divX cant play Xvid?
Jim .E. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 11:00 AM   #6
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
i jus installed some Xvid codec...still nothing :S
Jim .E. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 12:14 PM   #7
chia
Keepin' It Fake.
 
chia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: St. Catharines/Toronto
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim .E.
i jus installed some Xvid codec...still nothing :S
divx won't play xvid. but if you installed xvid and it still doesn't play, than im not sure.
http://www.xvidmovies.com/codec/
__________________
chia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 01:43 PM   #8
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
read FAQ...have all the required codecs...does not make sense at all
Jim .E. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 02:31 PM   #9
MP328
Krv Svoju Za Bosnu Moju
 
MP328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brampton
Posts: 2,583
Send a message via MSN to MP328
u just burned the files as .avi on the dvd-r rite?

then get this program called Gspot and open the file in it. it will tell u what codecs it's using and if it can render the video/audio http://www.headbands.com/gspot/ and which one u need to get to be able to play it.
MP328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 02:39 PM   #10
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
used Gspot...i have the codecs...it rendered...everything says successful...heres a ss
Attached Images
File Type: jpg troyG.JPG (85.8 KB, 31 views)
Jim .E. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 02:47 PM   #11
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,971
codec pack its ur freind. this is wat u need
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/...k_All_in_1.htm
__________________
#E36-S54 #CSLWannabe
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005, 02:48 PM   #12
MP328
Krv Svoju Za Bosnu Moju
 
MP328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brampton
Posts: 2,583
Send a message via MSN to MP328
use gspot on ur bro's comp and under render click that status button it will open another window. and click on the audio renderer and it will show u the name and the location on his computer. just download that exact one then to ur comp.
MP328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 12:51 AM   #13
Big Chin
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Toronto - Waterloo
Posts: 1,076
I just use VLC Media Player.. it'll play just about anything I throw at it... even some weird ass file extensions like .ogm ... Try it.
Big Chin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2005, 09:50 AM   #14
///MAC
Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,882
where can i get VLC ive tried looking for it... nothing
///MAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015