Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-16-2005, 09:26 AM   #1
rodo
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: oakville, ontario, canada
Posts: 4,203
noobie question about sub installation

hey guys, one quick question, how hard would it be to install a sub in my aviator? if i got the sub and amplifier, how many wires would there be needing to connect and to where? also what would be the cheapest set up i could run? thanks
__________________
2010 328i

2010 Expedition


Objects in mirror are farther than they appear Only in a BMW

rodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 11:24 AM   #2
Jordan
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: MaxBimmer, home of Nazi's,
Posts: 2,478
Send a message via AIM to Jordan
You sound like the kind of person that should really just have a stereo shop install it for them.
Jordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 01:13 PM   #3
6th Gear Member
 
Mؤ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 2,170
Send a message via MSN to Mؤ
^^^ Agreed, it's not that expensice to get it installed either, it's better to get it installed correctly.
__________________
Mؤ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 04:06 PM   #4
rodo
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: oakville, ontario, canada
Posts: 4,203
so how much would it cost and how many wires to they have to connect etc cuz i dont want wires around my car or hte sub there all the time...
__________________
2010 328i

2010 Expedition


Objects in mirror are farther than they appear Only in a BMW

rodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 04:17 PM   #5
Slowered318
Powered by Budgies
 
Slowered318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,962
12 wires
__________________
The major difference between my 318is and an e30 M3 is that the noises come from the engine and not the passengers
Slowered318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 05:23 PM   #6
JPWheelr
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Saint Louis MO
Posts: 27
Kids play nice

You'll have 2 power wires, 1 remote turn on wire, and at least 1 signal wire - all going to the amp. There can be up to 4 depending on what the shop you use does, meaning they may need to add a line output converter to convert your factory signal to something the amplifier can understand, or they can go straight from there to the amplifier.

So far 4 - 7 wires that only go TO the amplifier, all can be hidden by a shop that does even half decent work.

From there, you'll need at least two wires going from the amplifier to the sub. Depending on the sub you get, or if you get a pair, this number can increase by multiples of two.

The cheapest setup depends on how crappy you want it to be. And you don't want wires around the car? Too bad, they usually have to route all over the place, but they can be hidden like factory. Removable sub w/ hidden wires? a lot of shops can do that also. For a simple subwoofer setup, done properly, you can spend on average about US$700 installed, add $$$ for removable or whatever else you want.

Jordan: "You sound like the kind of person that should really just have a stereo shop install it for them."
I couldn't agree more!

I strongly urge (insist) you don't try this yourself, or even watch the installers do it.
And make sure the installers are proffessionals, this doesn't seem like the right kind of vehicle for your buddy to learn on, or the local highschooler that thinks he's a pro should tackle. Real shop, real installers; you'll be glad you did.
Wires can be hidden, fires cannot.


I gave you a serious answer.
JPWheelr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.