Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password

Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 11-30-2004, 12:21 AM   #1
anaps
for sale

Exclamation Yeah, im the new guy!

Hey everyone! I am new to this forum, as I have just bought my first bmw last week. Im sure you are familiar with my car, it is the white 1986 325 that was owned by Eurostyle and is featured on his business card. I am new to the world of bmw's and doing my own work on cars in general, but I am trying to learn it all, so if I say anything that sounds amatuer, be kind!
Although I would love to winter store this car, unfortunatley I can not afford a winter beater and am going to have to drive it. My intention is to help it last the winter with minimal impact and next spring when i get my bike back on the road, strip it down and restore/upgrade to get it back into prime shape. So, for the winter, I need a few things, but I dont know where to begin, so Im hoping that your help and advice will get me started.
To begin with, it is too low. I cant get into my driveway without scraping the fiberglass body kit, and the muffler hits speed bumps as i go over. Also, the body kit is cracked on all 4 corners from the previous owner, likely for the same reason. I am pretty sure the springs it has are cut, what are the most cost effective options for raising it up? not necessarily to stock height, but just a little higher? are good coilovers worth the investment, or too expensive for the benefit?