Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2004, 12:00 PM   #1
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
Car Alarm Siren

the siren that came with my car alarm isnt loud at all (imo)... so I was wondering, can I just buy one of those sirens off ebay and swap it with my current one?

here's an example of one: http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?...726506398&rd=1

I dont actually know which I'd get .. there seem to be a few to choose from.

Thanks
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 01:49 PM   #2
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,083
Personally, I like the factory BMW sirens, they have that shreaking noise, I don't know if they're loud enough, but I'm sure you could wire up more than one.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 01:53 PM   #3
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
I actually have an aftermarket clifford alarm.

I'm also considering adding a siren instead of replacing.. not sure yet.
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 04:54 PM   #4
Justin e36
---
 
Justin e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: etobicoke
Posts: 12,331
Send a message via ICQ to Justin e36 Send a message via AIM to Justin e36 Send a message via Yahoo to Justin e36
yes you can wire up a higher DB siren.

you can also wire up 2.

you can also get a backup siren.

If you really want your siren to be loud then don't put it in the engine bay pointing up... put it behind your foglight / rad tray and point it down at the ground... it'll be MUCH louder in all directions.

if you need more info, just ask.
Justin e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.