Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2004, 08:42 AM   #1
nseverin
2nd Gear Member
 
nseverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 239
Brake Pad Light.

On Saturday after some hard driving my brake pad light came on. I knew I needed some front pads soon cause I could see them through the rims. Anyways, I replaced the pads, rotors, and sensor. The backs are still good.
Does this light go out on its own or do I need a reset.
Help.
nseverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 08:51 AM   #2
Quack
Wheelman
 
Quack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,058
Send a message via MSN to Quack
the light turns on because the brake wear sensor is touching the rotors, once you replace everthing, the sensor is no longer touching the rotor and the light should be off, if the light is still on make sure the wire of the sensor isn't rubbing against the rim, also check your brake fluid level
__________________

Maxbimmer Drama, You Gotta Love It
Quack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 12:23 PM   #3
Harry
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 852
I think that with BMW's, once the sensor is tripped it needs to be replaced. They're like $20 or something at the dealer. The sensor wears down with the pad .
Harry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 12:55 PM   #4
cwiniarz
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 173
^^ that's what i thought
cwiniarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 01:56 PM   #5
Quack
Wheelman
 
Quack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,058
Send a message via MSN to Quack
that is true, but some people like to save some money, unless the sensor is completely worn out then you must buy one, once any part of the sensor touches anything metallic the light will turn on
__________________

Maxbimmer Drama, You Gotta Love It
Quack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 02:09 PM   #6
Jon@Bimmersport
MaXsponsor
 
Jon@Bimmersport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 13,779
when u get brakes serviced at the dealer, i think they just replace the sensor, well i remember from benz they use new hardware for everything
__________________

Authorized Ontario dealer for Active Autowerke|VF-Engineering|[/color]ESS TuningAFE|Bilstein Suspension|H&R Suspension|KW suspension|Brembo Brake Systems| Stoptech| - Call us for the best pricing please DO NOT PM in regards to pricing

Maintenance|Performance|Tuning & Forced Induction
Jon@Bimmersport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 02:11 PM   #7
Quack
Wheelman
 
Quack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,058
Send a message via MSN to Quack
Jon you are also correct, but we also replace things even when they don't need replacing at Benz, that's where all the money comes from
__________________

Maxbimmer Drama, You Gotta Love It
Quack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 02:17 PM   #8
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
just cut the wires, twist them 2 together, and tape it up.... no more brake pad light
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 02:35 PM   #9
nseverin
2nd Gear Member
 
nseverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 239
Talking

lol
you guys are too much!!!!!!!

Anyways I put a new sensor and talked to my friend whos a Bimmer Mechanic and he told me to turn the ignition key on (don't start the engine) for 30 sec. and it will go out. Well he was right!
nseverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 02:36 PM   #10
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
I was serious
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 02:37 PM   #11
nseverin
2nd Gear Member
 
nseverin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 239
Me too!
I still want my sensor to work ya know!!!
lol!!
Too much. Thats what I used to do back in day!
nseverin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2004, 11:20 PM   #12
V-Thang
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: driver seat
Posts: 1,285
yea i would just cut it... not that important to have a pad sensor...
V-Thang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.