Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 5 series
User Name
Password

Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 05-28-2004, 02:45 PM   #1
Canadian535is
1st Gear Newbie

Power Stearing?

Ok im pretty new to my E28... the power stearing pump is making some noise... i wanna check the fluid level but got no clue on where it is...

Could someone take a pick of the resivoir for me?

TKS
Canadian535is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2004, 10:12 PM   #2
Canadian535is
1st Gear Newbie

nobody ever check thier powerstearing fluid?
Old 06-01-2004, 01:43 AM   #3
Ted in T.O.
3rd Gear Member

PS fluid

i don't mean to be harsh but don't you have a owners manual?A real good source of info is to buy a Bentley repail manual for your 1982-1988 E28 5 series BMW on the internet.Your ps resevoir is on the drivers side attached to the wheel well.It's silver.You have to pump the brakes 10 times with the engine off to build up pressure in the resevoir.you fill it to 1 inch from the top.Also check the hoses comming out of the botttom of the resevoir.If still unsure,go to www.my e28 .com and say you are a newbe to the board and ask the question.There are alot of good people there that will help you with your problem better than i can.Try and use the search the archives section first.Good luck.Ted in T.O.
Ted in T.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2004, 02:36 AM   #4
BigD
the misanthropist

It's actually brown on the E28 M30's I've seen. Are you sure it's the PS pump? It usually starts leaking before it dies.