Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2004, 02:53 PM   #1
Autotechnica
BMW Traitor
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond Hill, Ont
Posts: 4,988
Send a message via MSN to Autotechnica
Need an LED for my car alarm

Anyone know what voltage's are used for LED's in car alarms? I'm getting mine installed on Monday and it's missing the LED. I have tonnes laying around from misc. computer parts. Will this work?

Thanks,

Bryan
__________________
'02 C32 AMG @ 18psi - Eurocharged custom ECU/TCU, ASP 178mm crank pulley + NW PSK, CM30 i/c pump, NW i/c iso kit, EC i/c, Magnecore wires, NW CAI, SL55 Y pipe, NW ported intake manifolds + gaskets/spacers, NW inconel exhaust manifolds, NW catch can, dual exhaust, H&R sways, H&R coilovers, H&R spacers, Quaife ATB LSD, goodridge lines, EBC yellowstuff, AMG 18" rims, Zeitronix datalogger.

Autotechnica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 03:08 PM   #2
SpoolinS6
6th Gear Member
 
SpoolinS6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,537
i think it should be like 3-6 volts easy
and if ur looking for the whole led assembly go to flee market they sell that shit cheap theyre !
__________________
1995 Audi S6
HI BOOST
SpoolinS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 03:10 PM   #3
Autotechnica
BMW Traitor
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond Hill, Ont
Posts: 4,988
Send a message via MSN to Autotechnica
Quote:
Originally posted by M_powered
i think it should be like 3-6 volts easy
and if ur looking for the whole led assembly go to flee market they sell that shit cheap theyre !
Thanks Geroge, but the car alarm power supply puts out 12 volts though, that means I need a 12V LED doesn't it?

Bry
__________________
'02 C32 AMG @ 18psi - Eurocharged custom ECU/TCU, ASP 178mm crank pulley + NW PSK, CM30 i/c pump, NW i/c iso kit, EC i/c, Magnecore wires, NW CAI, SL55 Y pipe, NW ported intake manifolds + gaskets/spacers, NW inconel exhaust manifolds, NW catch can, dual exhaust, H&R sways, H&R coilovers, H&R spacers, Quaife ATB LSD, goodridge lines, EBC yellowstuff, AMG 18" rims, Zeitronix datalogger.

Autotechnica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 04:05 PM   #4
niko_gt
6th Gear Member
 
niko_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 2,206
most led's should be 2-3 volts, even the high output ones
best thing to do, is install everything, and run a volt meter across where the led' light should go, im gonna make the assumption that its a 3 volt led. let us know
__________________
niko_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 04:06 PM   #5
niko_gt
6th Gear Member
 
niko_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 2,206
and btw i dont think they have 12 volt led's???
__________________
niko_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 08:31 PM   #6
Justin e36
---
 
Justin e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: etobicoke
Posts: 12,331
Send a message via ICQ to Justin e36 Send a message via AIM to Justin e36 Send a message via Yahoo to Justin e36
They use a 12V DC LED... and it depends on which LED's for your computer you're thinking of....

if it's LED's from your HD, Power case lights.. then it won't work... they'll get really hot and begin going dim in around 2-3 hours of being constantly on... (but they will last longer since they'll be pulsing). You need an actual 12V LED. Rice shops will have a bunch of them laying around and will prolly sell it off to a dollar for you. I bought a blue 12V DC LED for myalarm for a couple bucks... *shrugs*

in any case, it really does depend on the alarm system.. (i.e. compustar uses a different LED voltage for the window knocker)..

typicall though, 12V DC.

J
Justin e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 09:11 PM   #7
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,751
djcontra is selling red ones for like $2.50 each or something like that, PM him.
__________________

@stancejay
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 03:11 PM   #8
T.Dot_E30
Classifieds Moderator
 
T.Dot_E30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 9,246
I have 100's of resistors lying around. It reduces 12v to 3.3v i believe which is perfect for leds.

limmi know if you want one.

I also have blue leds.
__________________
T.Dot_E30 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 03:13 PM   #9
SpoolinS6
6th Gear Member
 
SpoolinS6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,537
Quote:
Originally posted by Autotechnica
Thanks Geroge, but the car alarm power supply puts out 12 volts though, that means I need a 12V LED doesn't it?

Bry
man i learned somethings about L.E.Ds in school if the alarm puts out 12vs u will need some resistors to bring it down to 5 or 6 volt due to running to much current threw the basic led will blow the **** out of it
i sudjest using resisters man

jorge....
__________________
1995 Audi S6
HI BOOST
SpoolinS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 03:31 PM   #10
SpoolinS6
6th Gear Member
 
SpoolinS6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,537
oh and also you will neeed a one way resister for each of your connections for the volts not to go back to the alarm system or it may fry it !
__________________
1995 Audi S6
HI BOOST
SpoolinS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 03:44 PM   #11
T.Dot_E30
Classifieds Moderator
 
T.Dot_E30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 9,246
Quote:
Originally posted by M_powered
oh and also you will neeed a one way resister for each of your connections for the volts not to go back to the alarm system or it may fry it !
I've never heard of volts going back into anything and fryin it like that.......plus its putting out 12v.....hows reducing the volts gonna fry it.
__________________
T.Dot_E30 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 03:45 PM   #12
SpoolinS6
6th Gear Member
 
SpoolinS6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 6,537
by making it a one way current
and reducing the volt is best for the leds not to pop !
__________________
1995 Audi S6
HI BOOST
SpoolinS6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 04:43 PM   #13
T.Dot_E30
Classifieds Moderator
 
T.Dot_E30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 9,246
Since when does current flow two-way?

Yes adding a resistor will increase resistance, lowering the voltage.
__________________
T.Dot_E30 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 04:53 PM   #14
Autotechnica
BMW Traitor
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Richmond Hill, Ont
Posts: 4,988
Send a message via MSN to Autotechnica
It's only one way current. The only way it will damage the PS system is if you bridge the +ve and -ve connections from the LED. Aside from that, it will only blow the LED and not damage the computer system.

Anyways, thanks for all your responses guys

I plugged in the alarm system and measured the current. It must have stepped down the voltage from inside the computer because it was only supplying 2 volts to the LED's. I found a 2V LED from a computer board and I'm using that.

Once again, thank you guys very much for your replies.

Bryan
__________________
'02 C32 AMG @ 18psi - Eurocharged custom ECU/TCU, ASP 178mm crank pulley + NW PSK, CM30 i/c pump, NW i/c iso kit, EC i/c, Magnecore wires, NW CAI, SL55 Y pipe, NW ported intake manifolds + gaskets/spacers, NW inconel exhaust manifolds, NW catch can, dual exhaust, H&R sways, H&R coilovers, H&R spacers, Quaife ATB LSD, goodridge lines, EBC yellowstuff, AMG 18" rims, Zeitronix datalogger.

Autotechnica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 05:38 PM   #15
niko_gt
6th Gear Member
 
niko_gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 2,206
hehe told you so told you so jk lol i assumed there was a 500 ohm resistor along the 12 volt path to the led.

theres' no such thing as a 12 volt LED, well there is but its the same thing as a 2 volt led just with a built in resistor
__________________
niko_gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.