Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-19-2004, 07:12 AM   #1
LukeE30IX
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cold ass MN
Posts: 66
M10 + S14

Is it possible to take a M10 block out of a 318i and put on a head from a S14? If not why not. What kind of modifications would i have to do?
__________________
Check out Our site,
www.frostyle.com
LukeE30IX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 08:02 AM   #2
jimmyd1
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 63
Nope, can't do that one. Bore and stroke are longer on the M3, crank is also bigger on the M3. The S14 M3 motor is also a DOHC, while the M10 motor is SOHC. Sorry guy. Try and get your hands on either a complete S14, M20B25, or if you are not a frivilous person concerned with cost, an M50, S50, or S52. I would think that the M20B25 would be the motor that would be most available to you.
jimmyd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 01:41 PM   #3
NickP
Moderator
 
NickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,135
Yes it can be done.

The starting point for the S14 was the M10 block. People fit the S14 2.3 crankshaft in the M10 all the time.

People also have bolted up the head to the M10 block - I don't know the specifics... Check this website for more info: http://www.m2bmw.com/m2BMW/laupa.htm
NickP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 05:13 PM   #4
miafori
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Turkey
Posts: 131
Send a message via ICQ to miafori
do the M10s have chain or belt driven pulleys? I think S14 has chain...
__________________
miafori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 11:10 PM   #5
crazyvadim
6th Gear Member
 
crazyvadim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 2,178
Send a message via AIM to crazyvadim
LoL.....1 guy says no the other says yes.
crazyvadim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 02:37 AM   #6
Boris The Blade
.........................
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 446
that car on that site is SICK!!!!
__________________
John!
Boris The Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 02:41 AM   #7
snd84318i
3rd Gear Member
 
snd84318i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: nyc
Posts: 378
maybe its both yes and no , i have a m10 but its from a e30 . that m10 is from a 2002 are that that different . or are they the same platform ? anyone knows
__________________
snd84318i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 04:25 AM   #8
nzer
4th Gear Member
 
nzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally posted by miafori
do the M10s have chain or belt driven pulleys? I think S14 has chain...
m10 is chain.
__________________
BMWs Downunder
http://www.bimmersport.co.nz
nzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 05:53 AM   #9
LukeE30IX
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cold ass MN
Posts: 66
Why would the M10 be a chain and the M20 be a belt?
The stroke and the bore are bigger and longer
the S14 was based on the M10 block. And i did think about getting an S50, dont have the cash for that, An M50 would be more in my sites. Well thanks for the help Guys
Luke
__________________
Check out Our site,
www.frostyle.com
LukeE30IX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 06:00 AM   #10
jimmyd1
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 63
Snd I think you are on to what is was trying to explain. Per the specs, I do not think you can fit the s14 crank into the block on a M10 318i. But I think that it may be possible to do an M10 e21, simply because the stroke is longer, unless you are able to swap the rods for the s14 crank w/ those from the M10 318 crank. I am also not familiar with the dimensions of the block as well(length and width). It also depends on what you want to do with the motor. If you want to turbo the motor, I think it might be a little too extreme, as the stroke on the 318 is 70 mm and the stroke on M3 is 84 mm.
jimmyd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:45 PM   #11
NickP
Moderator
 
NickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,135
Quote:
Originally posted by snd84318i
maybe its both yes and no , i have a m10 but its from a e30 . that m10 is from a 2002 are that that different . or are they the same platform ? anyone knows
There's a bunch of differences throughout its model run but its basically the same motor.
NickP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 02:19 PM   #12
NickP
Moderator
 
NickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,135
Quote:
Originally posted by jimmyd1
Snd I think you are on to what is was trying to explain. Per the specs, I do not think you can fit the s14 crank into the block on a M10 318i. But I think that it may be possible to do an M10 e21, simply because the stroke is longer, unless you are able to swap the rods for the s14 crank w/ those from the M10 318 crank. I am also not familiar with the dimensions of the block as well(length and width). It also depends on what you want to do with the motor. If you want to turbo the motor, I think it might be a little too extreme, as the stroke on the 318 is 70 mm and the stroke on M3 is 84 mm.
Why wouldn't it work with the e30 version of the m10?
The basic steps of fitting the crank are either machining the s14 crank or m10 timing cover for the front seal to fit. m30 oil pump sprocket and chain. You'll also need to machine the m10 crank pulley if you're not going with the s14 one.

You can use either rod - they have the same width / diameter at both ends; the s14 rod is longer. They do require different bearings though, the s14 ones being far more expensive.

Depending on the rods you choose ( $$$, revs vs torque ) you'll have to get custom pistons done. Most people go for a 91 or 92 mm bore.

This is obviously not a definitive guide but touches all the main points.
NickP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.