Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2004, 01:14 AM   #1
objec
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to objec
bypass AFM ???

can the air flow meter e30 and e30 m3 be taken out some how? and the car still preforms as good or better.
objec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 01:17 AM   #2
LukeE30IX
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cold ass MN
Posts: 66
Your a moron, you need that sensor for the engine to run.
__________________
Check out Our site,
www.frostyle.com
LukeE30IX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 01:46 AM   #3
89325iturbo
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: CT
Posts: 28
You can take it out, but you need something else besides the stock ECU to control the A/F ratio. Either a stand alone engine management sytem, or just the stand alone fuel management. A couple people use the megasquirt, with a map sensor for the most affordable route. You can't just take out the AFM, and be all said and done, and have your car work fine if that was the case no one on this board would have an AFM in there car.
89325iturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:07 AM   #4
objec
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to objec
if the afm is not there it wont start.
objec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:25 AM   #5
diegom6
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lima-Peru , South America
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally posted by LukeE30IX
Your a moron, you need that sensor for the engine to run.
Quote:
Your a moron
hahahahahahaha

anywqays...the car can start with out the AFM, you can't run you r bimmer with out a AFM...you can swappa bigger AFM from the M30 engine and swapp also the electronic part inside the meter....as I did it and many other guys did it!
__________________
diegom6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:58 AM   #6
objec
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to objec
diegom6

what kinda of exhaust manifold you you have, is it custom.
how much psi do you run, do you have a bov, how does the manual boost control thing work on yours.

is it better to put your afm where you have it or inbetween the air filter and turbo?

Last edited by objec; 02-09-2004 at 03:00 AM.
objec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:59 AM   #7
BladeRunner
4th Gear Member
 
BladeRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: some terrestrial planet
Posts: 662
why does evryone give objec a hard time?

anyway i don't think your car would run.

changin oil one day forgot to reattach and secure the sensor car would start but just barely. it run for three seconds then shutdown. tryed starting and taping the throttle. i pushed the throttle one inch and my RPMs went to 6k easily.
__________________
Mad E30 lover
BladeRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 03:01 AM   #8
BladeRunner
4th Gear Member
 
BladeRunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: some terrestrial planet
Posts: 662
Quote:
Originally posted by objec
diegom6

what kinda of exhaust manifold you you have, is it custom.
how much psi do you run, do you have a bov, how does the manual boost control thing work on yours.
a thrad about his car can be found on the first page of the e30 section of Max.
BladeRunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 03:03 AM   #9
objec
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to objec
cool
objec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 06:50 AM   #10
jimmyd1
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 63
Actually you can completely bypass the AFM, but it would require you to completely reconfigure EFI system, including a new ECU, FMU, Sensors, etc. The system requires you to replace you crank pulse sensor, with a four sensor crank pulse system. I will try to get the info to you. Everything runs about $1500, but you supposedly gain somewhere between 15-30 hp. It would be far easier and cheaper to run a plug in MAF . You can get them from Pro-M and Split Second. They run between $700 and $1000. You make the call.
jimmyd1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 01:00 PM   #11
chromius
6th Gear Member
 
chromius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 4,006
Quote:
Originally posted by BladeRunner
why does evryone give objec a hard time?

You should read some of his other posts...thats why everyone gives him a hard time, cuz he's full of $hi#.... He already has an 800hp e30 M3 twin turbo and his non turbo e30 325e already has 250hp

http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/show...threadid=28320

Last edited by chromius; 02-09-2004 at 01:02 PM.
chromius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 01:01 PM   #12
diegom6
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lima-Peru , South America
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally posted by objec
diegom6

what kinda of exhaust manifold you you have, is it custom.
how much psi do you run, do you have a bov, how does the manual boost control thing work on yours.

is it better to put your afm where you have it or inbetween the air filter and turbo?
see here..--->My Custom Turbo Header

I went that route cuz I thought it will be more accurate in metering the flow rate...you can put the AFM before too, but I don't know how it will respond...some puts before and other after...maybe is not much difference, dunno
__________________
diegom6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:52 PM   #13
objec
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to objec
thats cool how you did that, i was going to do the same thing, but i found the 524td manifold for very cheap, you said it might need to be trimmed, what did you mean buy that diegom6.
objec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:56 PM   #14
objec
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 230
Send a message via AIM to objec
aslo diegom6, do you use a bov, on you turbo system, and how much more boost did that manual boost thing give you.
objec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 03:14 PM   #15
diegom6
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lima-Peru , South America
Posts: 217
Quote:
Originally posted by objec
aslo diegom6, do you use a bov, on you turbo system, and how much more boost did that manual boost thing give you.
I'm using Apexi Twin Chamber BOV, sounds great... here some pics..





__________________
diegom6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.