Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Multimedia > Photography
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2003, 03:49 AM   #31
mkgino
6th Gear Member
 
mkgino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,685
Quote:
Originally posted by koncise
here are some of my better night shots... keep in mind though, this is just using the default camera settings with no flash. I just now learned about the exposure settings and crap, so when I get the camera back in 2 weeks (its w/ parents in germany) I'm gonna try some new night shots... hopefully with better results.

sorry, you have to copy/paste the links into address bar

http://www25.brinkster.com/koncise/IMG_1237.jpg

http://www25.brinkster.com/koncise/IMG_1242.jpg

http://www25.brinkster.com/koncise/IMG_1246.jpg

http://www25.brinkster.com/koncise/IMG_1251.jpg
Thanks, they look good.

But they do look kinda blurry, could that be from moving the camera while you take a pic? Or is that just the best pic the camera can take?
__________________
mkgino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 03:51 AM   #32
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
probably me shaking... it was cold that night
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 03:53 AM   #33
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
...

A70 Shooting modes include:

Auto
Program AE
Shutter priority AE
Aperture priority AE
Manual
Portrait
Landscape
Night Scene
Fast Shutter
Slow Shutter
Stitch Asssist
Movie (with sound)

SD100 Shooting modes
Auto
Manual
Stitch Asssist
Movie (with sound)

A70 has alot more shooting settings which makes it more user friendly to take good quality pics, without the guess work.
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 03:56 AM   #34
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
Quote:
Originally posted by koncise
probably me shaking... it was cold that night
regardless of what camera, the best results to achieve best quality night shots is using a tripod along with a remote or using the timer. pretty good shots however without a tripod.
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 03:59 AM   #35
mkgino
6th Gear Member
 
mkgino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,685
Re: ...

Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Gates
A70 Shooting modes include:

Auto
Program AE
Shutter priority AE
Aperture priority AE
Manual
Portrait
Landscape
Night Scene
Fast Shutter
Slow Shutter
Stitch Asssist
Movie (with sound)

SD100 Shooting modes
Auto
Manual
Stitch Asssist
Movie (with sound)

A70 has alot more shooting settings which makes it more user friendly to take good quality pics, without the guess work.
Dammit, why did u have to go on and say that now! lol I had my mind made up too.

what do these ones mean?

Program AE
Shutter priority AE
Aperture priority AE
Portrait
Night Scene
Fast Shutter
Slow Shutter
Stitch Asssist
__________________
mkgino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 04:05 AM   #36
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
Re: Re: ...

Quote:
Originally posted by mkgino
Dammit, why did u have to go on and say that now! lol I had my mind made up too.

what do these ones mean?

Program AE
normal mode, camera figures everything out for you. AE is Auto Lock.
Shutter priority AE
if u want to shoot in Shutter mode, then you choose the shutter speed e.g 1/500 and the camera figures out the rest.
Aperture priority AE
ff u want to shoot in Aperture mode, then you choose the Aperture e.g f4.0 and the camera figures out the rest.
Portrait
close up face shots, with little DOF
Night Scene
sets aperture to lowest 2.8 and probably removes noise, etc... to get the best results in night shots.
Fast Shutter
not sure
Slow Shutter
not sure
Stitch Asssist
panoramic i'm assuming... taking a number of landscape pics and putting them together as one big pic.
__________________

Last edited by Bill Gates; 11-12-2003 at 04:17 AM.
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 04:08 AM   #37
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
...

and here's a current review with the A70 playing with the big boys that cost more.

http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/artic...,111651,00.asp
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 04:13 AM   #38
mkgino
6th Gear Member
 
mkgino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,685
Re: ...

Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Gates
and here's a current review with the A70 playing with the big boys that cost more.

http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/artic...,111651,00.asp
Damn, you make a great argument. I know for sure the A70 is the better camera. You dont have any pics from the camera do you?
__________________
mkgino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 04:53 AM   #39
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
...

mk,

sorry, i don't have any pics myself since i don't own an A70.

However, this forum called PBase is a huge photo gallery site with a ton of beginner to advance photo shots taken from all over the world.

here's a random gallery taken from the A70....

http://www.pbase.com/cameras/canon/powershot_a70
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 05:05 AM   #40
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
had to post this

http://www.pbase.com/image/23169368
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 05:05 AM   #41
mkgino
6th Gear Member
 
mkgino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,685
Re: ...

Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Gates
mk,

sorry, i don't have any pics myself since i don't own an A70.

However, this forum called PBase is a huge photo gallery site with a ton of beginner to advance photo shots taken from all over the world.

here's a random gallery taken from the A70....

http://www.pbase.com/cameras/canon/powershot_a70
The A70 keeps getting rated worse than the S230, why??

http://forum.pbase.com/viewtopic.php...highlight=s230
__________________
mkgino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 05:10 AM   #42
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
Re: Re: ...

Quote:
Originally posted by mkgino
The A70 keeps getting rated worse than the S230, why??

http://forum.pbase.com/viewtopic.php...highlight=s230
Those stats are based on camera models and # of pics on pbase.

those aren't ratings of the camera, just statistical data on the forum by model and pics taken.
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 05:16 AM   #43
Bill Gates
6th Gear Member
 
Bill Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oakville
Posts: 1,217
Send a message via MSN to Bill Gates
...

mk,

check out these forums for users comments, reviews on the Canon A70.

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1010
http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=15

Happy Reading...
__________________
Bill Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2003, 05:34 AM   #44
mkgino
6th Gear Member
 
mkgino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,685
Re: ...

Quote:
Originally posted by Bill Gates
mk,

check out these forums for users comments, reviews on the Canon A70.

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/forum.asp?forum=1010
http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=15

Happy Reading...
Alright, thanks for your help!!

I am going to go to walmart and check out the A70 and the SD100 and decide and buy it there. The A70 is better, but the SD100 is cheaper overall. So what I am going to do is see what has the better look and feel and see which one seems easier to use.

Thanks everyone for your help
__________________
mkgino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 02:45 PM   #45
mkgino
6th Gear Member
 
mkgino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,685
Alright, here is an update.

I went to the mall a while ago and looked at a few cameras. I held the A70 and the SD100 and put them in the pocket of my jeans, and checked the zoom and other options. I decided against the A70 just from feel. I know that it is the better camera, I am not disputing that. But I will sacrifice some functionality for the smaller size. The SD100 fit right into my pocket, and it just felt like a cell phone. I also tried out the zoom on both cameras and the A70 did zoom in more, but it really wasnt a big deal to me.

Now however I have another problem, I have decided to get either the S230 or the SD100. So the A70 is completely out of the picture.

But I have read that there were some problems with the SD100 with respect to some error with using the SD memory. It causes an error in some cameras, and youhave to download some software from canon to fix it or something.

That is why I have looked towards the s230, basically the same cam, with same options except that it uses compact flash memory.

Now here is the pricing:

S230 = $270 usd total from amazon.com
SD100 = $310 usd total from walmart.com

now the advantage that the SD has is that I already have a 128mb card sitting at home and at the $310 it comes with an axtra 64 mB card

the s230 on the other hand doesnt come with the extra memory but it is $40 cheaper, which I could buy more memory with since CF is much cheaper.

Now on the other hand, I would rather order it from walmart online since I can walk into the store if anything goes wrong. what would u guys choose?
__________________
mkgino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014