Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Classifieds > Looking for
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2003, 11:53 PM   #1
Adriano
Who's your daddy now?
 
Adriano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Bond Facility
Posts: 1,087
Send a message via MSN to Adriano
Wink Trade my M3 guage mph cluster for a km/h one

I have a guage cluster from a 97 M3 with about 25,000 miles on it that I need to trade for a cluster with the following requirments:
Must be in kilometers per hour
Does not have to be from an M3 but must be from a 6 cylinder
Looking for no more than 80,000 kms (prefer less than 50,000 kms but will take what I can get)
No scratches or major marks on lens
Please email me if you have one to alo@mnsi.net
__________________


Agent BMW trailer
Adriano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2003, 06:46 AM   #2
windsor318is
Nitrous Junkie!
 
windsor318is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Bond Facility
Posts: 4,455
eh, you have enough posts to use an avatar know. (the little pic on the side)
__________________
windsor318is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 02:54 PM   #3
Jon@Bimmersport
MaXsponsor
 
Jon@Bimmersport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 13,766
why not get like white faced gauges but in KM? or silver body colour ones?
__________________

Authorized Ontario dealer for Active Autowerke|VF-Engineering|AFE|Bilstein Suspension|H&R Suspension|KW suspension|Brembo Brake Systems| Stoptech| - Call us for the best pricing please DO NOT PM in regards to pricing

Maintenance|Performance|Tuning & Forced Induction
Jon@Bimmersport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2003, 01:17 AM   #4
windsor318is
Nitrous Junkie!
 
windsor318is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Bond Facility
Posts: 4,455
Quote:
Originally posted by E46_lover
why not get like white faced gauges but in KM? or silver body colour ones?
thats what i said but the odometer will still read im miles ( then his car wouldnt rev to 14,000 rpm
__________________
windsor318is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 04:55 AM   #5
BMWF1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by windsor318is
thats what i said but the odometer will still read im miles ( then his car wouldnt rev to 14,000 rpm
LMAO, I thought it reved to around 19,000 RPM's he was smokin formula one cars last time i seen him
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 11:24 AM   #6
Adriano
Who's your daddy now?
 
Adriano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Bond Facility
Posts: 1,087
Send a message via MSN to Adriano
Quote:
Originally posted by BMWF1
LMAO, I thought it reved to around 19,000 RPM's he was smokin formula one cars last time i seen him


FUNNY!
Hey Al, thanks for the tip on the Avatar. Do you like mine?
My f***ing email doesn't work for some damn reason, you left your wheel lock at my shop.
__________________


Agent BMW trailer
Adriano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 02:15 AM   #7
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,368
If I'm correct you car adjust milage on your odometer to the milage on yout computer pretty easy.

Test 9
http://www.bmw-m.net/TechProc/test.htm
SickFinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 06:44 PM   #8
windsor318is
Nitrous Junkie!
 
windsor318is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: The Bond Facility
Posts: 4,455
this one is better

YOU BACK ON SUNDAY????
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mvc-013s.jpg (36.4 KB, 5238 views)
__________________
windsor318is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 09:48 PM   #9
BMWF1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Adriano


FUNNY!
Hey Al, thanks for the tip on the Avatar. Do you like mine?
My f***ing email doesn't work for some damn reason, you left your wheel lock at my shop.
I try
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 12:31 AM   #10
Adriano
Who's your daddy now?
 
Adriano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Bond Facility
Posts: 1,087
Send a message via MSN to Adriano
Quote:
Originally posted by SickFinga
If I'm correct you car adjust milage on your odometer to the milage on yout computer pretty easy.

Test 9
http://www.bmw-m.net/TechProc/test.htm

Again SickFinga, I must thank you for your help and your vast knowlege of our cars. The only question is that this link provides only the method of testing and viewing the info not changing it. How do you change this without getting the dealership involved?

Al. I'm back from London. I was REALLY debating to use this picture but when it is 100x100 my other one looks better.
Adriano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2003, 07:53 PM   #11
SickFinga
Moderator
 
SickFinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Location:
Posts: 16,368
Quote:
Originally posted by Adriano
The only question is that this link provides only the method of testing and viewing the info not changing it.
It says if you hold the odometer button during test 9, it will overwrite incorrect milage to the real one.

The problem is if you have 200k on your odometer and 100k in your computer, which milage would it overwrite?
I dont know.
SickFinga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2003, 09:50 PM   #12
Wilf
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: King City, Ontario.
Posts: 32
1. the test mode can report ROAD SPEED in KM, not distance travelled (ie. it does NOT reprogram the odometer).
2. the odometer CAN be reprogrammed to KM but has to be done with a speedometer programming tool (many $k). there are shops that will do it.
3. the problem on the M3 is the 8K (vs. 7K) tach - I've yet to find someone who has replacement faceplates to 8K (although some creative cut and paste with a KM speedo (leaving the original tach faceplate) might work)
4. any 6 cyl. E36 cluster will work however the redline on the tach won't be in the right place for the M3 (works fine on mine, you get used to burying the needle...)
__________________
Wilf - Toronto, Ontario.
'99 E36 M3 Convertible
'88 E30 325i Convertible
Wilf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2003, 03:02 AM   #13
Adriano
Who's your daddy now?
 
Adriano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The Bond Facility
Posts: 1,087
Send a message via MSN to Adriano
Quote:
Originally posted by Wilf
1. the test mode can report ROAD SPEED in KM, not distance travelled (ie. it does NOT reprogram the odometer).
2. the odometer CAN be reprogrammed to KM but has to be done with a speedometer programming tool (many $k). there are shops that will do it.
3. the problem on the M3 is the 8K (vs. 7K) tach - I've yet to find someone who has replacement faceplates to 8K (although some creative cut and paste with a KM speedo (leaving the original tach faceplate) might work)
4. any 6 cyl. E36 cluster will work however the redline on the tach won't be in the right place for the M3 (works fine on mine, you get used to burying the needle...)
Thank you for that reply. I was dicking around with my cluster for a while now. I will be looking for a 6 cylinder cluster for replacment.
__________________


Agent BMW trailer
Adriano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2004, 08:33 PM   #14
Understated
7th Gear [SMG III] Member
 
Understated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: location location
Posts: 9,955
wait a minute..so does this mean it's possible to just remove the cluster and put in a new cluster that shows 'low kms' for ur car.

i wonder if losers do that when they sell their car(if it is possible..?)
Understated is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2004, 02:45 AM   #15
Wilf
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: King City, Ontario.
Posts: 32
yup, nothing too high-tech on the E36 as long as the coding plug & cluster match - E46 also stores KM in the key transponder & a cluster reset is needed which results in the highest KM being displayed. (also what happens on E36 if the coding plug doesn't match)
__________________
Wilf - Toronto, Ontario.
'99 E36 M3 Convertible
'88 E30 325i Convertible
Wilf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.