Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2003, 01:26 AM   #1
steelraven
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 130
Question amp wiring

Need help! Possibly a stupid question...

I want to hook up my sub and amp but I don't have the guts to rip apart my dash to hook up the amp's remote wire. So my questions are:

1) Can I hook up this wire somewhere else?

2) If I do have to wire it to the deck how do I get in there and where should I make the connection?

P.S. I don't have the HK upgrade (no factory amp).

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance!
__________________
steelraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 03:18 AM   #2
BMW BMXer
Wants a 350 Blazer.
 
BMW BMXer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,760
Send a message via ICQ to BMW BMXer Send a message via AIM to BMW BMXer Send a message via MSN to BMW BMXer Send a message via Yahoo to BMW BMXer
How are you going to attatch your RCA's without taking the deck out?
__________________

Stanceiseverything.com
BMW BMXer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 01:30 PM   #3
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,711
Quote:
Originally posted by BMW BMXer
How are you going to attatch your RCA's without taking the deck out?
Sounds like he's using the factory head, therefore tapping the signal from the rear speakers.
__________________
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 04:49 PM   #4
BMW BMXer
Wants a 350 Blazer.
 
BMW BMXer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 7,760
Send a message via ICQ to BMW BMXer Send a message via AIM to BMW BMXer Send a message via MSN to BMW BMXer Send a message via Yahoo to BMW BMXer
Well in that case just find a power source that turns on when the cars on using an test light,
__________________

Stanceiseverything.com
BMW BMXer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 07:14 PM   #5
Albertae30
3rd Gear Member
 
Albertae30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Deer - Alberta
Posts: 430
ok look here is soem advise if your going to do something do it right or not at all i just installed my subs and amp it was easy as hell. do you have an after market amp? if you do just pull the deck out from the front and then hook up your rca cables. then run them under the center consol and to the back same witht the remote wire. then do your ground from your amp make sure this wire is not more then 6 inchs in length or it will make your amp blow up. its really simple dude don't do a half ass job it will look like shit and won't be the real thing.
__________________
1995 VOLVO 850 Turbo
1986 Chev Camaro Z28 running 250 horse with just a stock motor and open air filter carbed.
allcanadianreject84@hotmail.com
Albertae30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 07:29 PM   #6
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,711
You seemed to have missed the issue. It is likely a factory headunit, with no RCA jacks. He is just getting the signal from the rear speaker connections. Therefore, he has no need to take the dash apart at all, he just needs a switched power source.
__________________
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 08:17 PM   #7
Albertae30
3rd Gear Member
 
Albertae30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Deer - Alberta
Posts: 430
you can buy rca wireing kits for stock head units as well i don't think its a good idea my self just my 2 cents
__________________
1995 VOLVO 850 Turbo
1986 Chev Camaro Z28 running 250 horse with just a stock motor and open air filter carbed.
allcanadianreject84@hotmail.com
Albertae30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 02:01 AM   #8
steelraven
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 130
You're right. My plan is to steal the signal from the rear speakers and connect them directly to the speaker level inputs on my amp.

$#!t I made an error!
I meant the signal ground wire (not the remote wire). Can I ground this anywhere or only to the deck?
I'm retarded...
__________________
steelraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 02:04 AM   #9
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,711
Sure, any ground will do just fine, basically any bare metal surface. If you really wanna be sure it's good, run it straight to the negative battery terminal since it's right there in the trunk.
__________________
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 03:54 AM   #10
Albertae30
3rd Gear Member
 
Albertae30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Deer - Alberta
Posts: 430
the battery is inthe trunk?? that is something i did not know but dude make sure when installing the amp the ground wire from the amp to a ground cannot be more then 6-8 inchs or the amp will not be able to ground properly and heat up. also for your power and ground make sure you use some fat wire at least 8 guage.this depends on how much power you are using if its more then 300 watts you want at least 12 gauge wire anything less will be a fire hazard.
__________________
1995 VOLVO 850 Turbo
1986 Chev Camaro Z28 running 250 horse with just a stock motor and open air filter carbed.
allcanadianreject84@hotmail.com
Albertae30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 01:05 PM   #11
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,711
I think you have your concept of wire gauge backwards. A lower numerical figure represents a thicker wire.

For what it's worth, the distance between my amp and the negative battery terminal is about 18-20", and I have had no problems whatsoever. It was a very experienced shop that did it, too.
__________________
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 03:56 PM   #12
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
Quote:
Originally posted by Mystikal
I think you have your concept of wire gauge backwards. A lower numerical figure represents a thicker wire.

For what it's worth, the distance between my amp and the negative battery terminal is about 18-20", and I have had no problems whatsoever. It was a very experienced shop that did it, too.
What shop do you go to?
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 05:44 PM   #13
Albertae30
3rd Gear Member
 
Albertae30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Red Deer - Alberta
Posts: 430
that i do sorry bout that i am just going on what my good friend has told me due to he has his own stereo shop. also if you look on crutfield.com they will tell you the same thing so meh its up to opinion i guess
__________________
1995 VOLVO 850 Turbo
1986 Chev Camaro Z28 running 250 horse with just a stock motor and open air filter carbed.
allcanadianreject84@hotmail.com
Albertae30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2003, 02:59 PM   #14
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,711
Quote:
Originally posted by koncise
What shop do you go to?
It's this little shop in "downtown" (lmao) Whitby. I like going there because they never rush anything, and it's just the 2 guys who own the shop that do all the work, not some random hired help.
__________________
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.