Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > General > General Discussion
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2003, 04:04 PM   #1
blkm3
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TO
Posts: 516
E36 radio installation??

I was trying to change my stock radio to an aftermarket one . Does anyone know what each color on the BMW wire harness represent ex what color is the ( power , left speaker etc...) Also I had a friend who tried to connect the radio but there is no sound from it but the radio works perfect . Does anyonw know if it has to do with the stock amps, if so how does any buy pass this . Any help would be great
Thanks
blkm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 11:07 PM   #2
blkm3
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TO
Posts: 516
doesnt anyone know ??? no one change their radio???
blkm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 03:46 AM   #3
sonic07
6th Gear Member
 
sonic07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Street - Ville
Posts: 1,260
i don't have the colour code for the radio but i have this pin # what they're for ..... i hope this will help you ....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg radiopinout.jpg (62.1 KB, 128 views)
__________________

Pedal To The Metal
sonic07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 05:33 AM   #4
Alwysfresh
Registered User
 
Alwysfresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 265
vio/wht - hot in accy, run and start
red/wht - hot at all times
yel - cd changer
yel/red & yel/brn - left front speakers (low and high)
yel/vio & yel/gry - left rear speaker
blu/blk & blu/brn - right front speakers (low and high)
blu/vio & blu/gry - right rear speaker
gry/red - interior lights system
brn - ground
blk/wht - instrument cluster
wht/brn - telephone connector
wht - antenna amplifier

Hope this helps
Alwysfresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 12:35 PM   #5
blkm3
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TO
Posts: 516
thanks guys that helps a lot . Does anyone know if I have to bypass the original amps??? or do I just hook hup the radio and it will work?
blkm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 04:14 PM   #6
Jesse
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally posted by blkm3
thanks guys that helps a lot . Does anyone know if I have to bypass the original amps??? or do I just hook hup the radio and it will work?
People have told me in the past that if you don't bypass the original amplifier your system will sound like crap, but I never did it (too much work) and mine sounds fine.

I have a Kenwood 400W amp with one 10..., which is more than enough. I replaced all my stock speakers with pioneer 140w and they haven't blown yet (1 1/2 yrs).
__________________
Jesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 05:32 PM   #7
95 325i
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 114
You can get an adapter for most systems so that you don't have to cut the origional connector. Their only like $15.00 to $25.00.
__________________
95 325i

95 325i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 01:14 AM   #8
Predator_e36
AKA:e36=m3square
 
Predator_e36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 1,031
Send a message via ICQ to Predator_e36
first u need a wirin harness and a radio adapter. and the reason why ur not gettin any sound is because ur oem amp is not on, u need to hock up the blue wire
__________________
Predator_e36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 01:18 AM   #9
marco328is
3rd Gear Member
 
marco328is's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Innisfil
Posts: 339
Thumbs up

go buy the harness adapter @ Canadian Tire
It's $20
marco328is is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2003, 04:17 AM   #10
blkm3
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TO
Posts: 516
Canadian tires ???? I dont think they stock bmw parts. but thanks for the advice anyways . does anyone know where this adapter cheap . Also the blue wire was hooked up and still the amps did not turn on . Do I hook it up to the acc power???
blkm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014