Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2002, 08:15 PM   #1
Dluxazn58
2nd Gear Member
 
Dluxazn58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Milpitas/San Jose/Sunnyvale/Santa Clara- Ca, USA
Posts: 180
Send a message via AIM to Dluxazn58
Audio: Wiring 2 Subs

Hey guys.. I dont know if you remember me talking about my audio setup.. but I finally went with a pair of 10" kenwood "tornado" style subs.

My question is.. what kind of amp should I get?
and how would I wire it? If I get a mono Class D amp... how would I wire that to 2 subs? connect the subs together and wire it as one speaker? Same question but different amp.. If I had a 2 channel amp. Would it be better for me to bridge it, and wire the two subs as one speaker? or should I wire it as two speakers?
any differences in performance from the two different ways?

ALSO.. i'm not very familar with amps...
I have a sub output on my deck, and my amp will be connected to this. NOT THROUGH SPEAKER INPUTS
so would I need a switch to turn the amp on and off?
or will it turn on automatically? or does all this depend on the amp?
__________________

Say Wha?
Dluxazn58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2002, 10:16 PM   #2
Furious
BMW again.
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,088
well i wired mine as one (or bridged),, because thats what i was told to do,,i made it mono,,,,, the best thing to do is ask a local cart audio place,, you will also need a crossover,,,,
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2002, 02:17 AM   #3
Schnell
2nd Gear Member
 
Schnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ames, IA
Posts: 172
If your deck has a subwoofer pre-out, you shouldn't need a crossover, it should be built into your deck. As for wiring, it all depends on what kind of amp you get and what the max power and impedance of the subs are.
__________________
1993 525it
"The Shaggin' Wagon"
Alpine White
Stereo
F@$%ing Automatic 4-speed
Schnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2002, 09:04 AM   #4
Furious
BMW again.
 
Furious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,088
most decks dont come with sub pre-outputs,, they havent become a standard option for most audio companies yet,, i found most decks with the duel or sub pre-outputs are in the high hundred dollar range and are over 200watts..hopefully this will become a standard option for all decks..
Furious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.