Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E90/E91/E92/E93
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2013, 09:07 PM   #1
gerrythegrea
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: hawkesbury
Posts: 6
where to get codes read ?

Hi there

I am one hour east of Ottawa and one hour west of Montreal and was wondering where I could get my engine computer read for codes? The check engine light came on yesterday on my 2006 330 xi .

thank you
gerrythegrea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:41 PM   #2
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,596
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
my local partsouce does this for free, yours might too. also try craigslist, scanners are cheap and lots of people have them
__________________

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's supersports, ZHP knob, UUC short shift GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
http://absolutehid.ca hid kit
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 11:07 PM   #3
jcr
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 47
If it is engine OBD code then you can easily find some scanners cheap locally or on eBay (my one is like $15). But if it is a manufacturer specific then you'll need specific tool and software which cost a little more too (which I got also).

Have you try getting a code from the cluster? So when you start the car, do you get an warning icon that shows up on the cluster display screen? If you do, you can press and hold the the BC button for 5 seconds and it should pop up a code.
jcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.