Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 7 series
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2012, 11:44 PM   #1
dece_dece
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: toronto
Posts: 53
Trannny fail -safe mode

what does that mean?


I went up a hill in a underground and it showed up...
dece_dece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
bmwm5lover
is BMW crazy
 
bmwm5lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 15,305
Something is wrong. Have it scanned to see what code popped up. Maybe low on oil or on its way out.
__________________
www.enthusiastauto.caNeed a car???

His--'00 BMW ///M5 .:Jet BLK/BLK:. Individual - Style 65 Wheels; 9.5" Square Set up;275 Tires;10mm/3mm Spacers; Black Kidneys;Muffler Delete; 3.5" Dual Tips; Beast Power; "Dinan" Ducts; E60 SSK; BC Coils
Hers--'00 BMW ///M5 .:Avus Blue/Grey/Black:.
Toys
'88 BMW 635CSi Blue/Tan Sport
'81 MB 500 SEC Euro Koenig
'91 Alfa Romer 164S- Red/Black/ Recaro interior
bmwm5lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:59 AM   #3
740-iLL
Founder of GTA7's
 
740-iLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brampton
Posts: 1,067
Trans Fail Safe can come up from many many different things.

Even a low battery can bring this error message out.

Like stated above, have your car codes read and see what has been saved in the memory.

If no codes are found, it could be a random glitch that does sometimes occur.

Normally, when I get the TFS, I will turn off the car for a few minutes, then restart and go. If the TFS comes back right away, stop and inspect. If it doesn't come back, could have just been a slight glitch.

But like I said, a low battery could cause this as well.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter @SEVEN40iL
740-iLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 06:44 PM   #4
dece_dece
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: toronto
Posts: 53
Here is the picture.
My tranny cooling rad had a pin hole and leaked about 4 ounces of fluid out of that tiny little pin hole. I got it welded by a specialst aluminum welder so that was solved. My mechanic and I solved that problem 2 weeks ago.

And all of a sudden three days ago TFS pop's up on my dash and I have been having a lot of fun with the zf tranny and m 62 engine whenever there is a straight but nothing crazy i rarley push it to 6k rpm.


Iam going to disconnect the battery and use sand paper and sand down the positive and negative since I do notice a bit of corrosion on the connectors.

Im planning on ordering some red line fluid for the tranny with filter and magnetic drain plug. and red line for the rear axle..



...


I got my car scanned plenty of times. I need 5 codes come up and they all have to do with air sensors.
dece_dece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 06:48 PM   #5
dece_dece
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: toronto
Posts: 53
Ill post up the 5 codes later tonight or late in the morning.
dece_dece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 09:47 AM   #6
740-iLL
Founder of GTA7's
 
740-iLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brampton
Posts: 1,067
Yeah, post up the codes when you can.

Also, when you disconnect the battery to clean the terminals, leave them disconnected overnight. That should clear up any gremlins that the tranny may have, and take her for a spin and see whats up.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter @SEVEN40iL
740-iLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 06:05 PM   #7
dece_dece
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: toronto
Posts: 53
I took her for a spin on the highway last night for about 40min and nothing happened out of the ordinary.

Ill post the codes up asap.
dece_dece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 09:27 AM   #8
740-iLL
Founder of GTA7's
 
740-iLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brampton
Posts: 1,067
Gremlins I tell ya!
__________________
Follow me on Twitter @SEVEN40iL
740-iLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 02:36 PM   #9
E30 Girl
6th Gear Member
 
E30 Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lea$ide
Posts: 2,425
Send a message via MSN to E30 Girl
E38 Gremlins completely normal.....lol
E30 Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 04:50 PM   #10
740-iLL
Founder of GTA7's
 
740-iLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brampton
Posts: 1,067


How ya been Linds!
__________________
Follow me on Twitter @SEVEN40iL
740-iLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 11:47 AM   #11
E30 Girl
6th Gear Member
 
E30 Girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Lea$ide
Posts: 2,425
Send a message via MSN to E30 Girl
Quote:
Originally Posted by 740-iLL View Post


How ya been Linds!
Not bad just really busy with work. How about you?
E30 Girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 07:00 PM   #12
dece_dece
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: toronto
Posts: 53
Toped the tranny 3 weeks ago with redline d4. no problems. car is great i just turn into a werewolf when im in traffic. lol jk.


I have a little steering wheel shake at 80km the lower front control should get replaced by the end of this month.

Might get some tints. Engine code is on still exhaust sensros need to be replaced but i dont want to replace the one that still works. I want to replace the faulty one and save a buck. How does one go about to checking which sensor is faulty?
dece_dece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 09:48 AM   #13
740-iLL
Founder of GTA7's
 
740-iLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brampton
Posts: 1,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by dece_dece View Post
How does one go about to checking which sensor is faulty?

Best way would be to get someone with a computer with the right software to hook it up and see the readings from the sensor.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter @SEVEN40iL
740-iLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:48 AM   #14
dece_dece
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: toronto
Posts: 53
My tranny doesnt feel 100% after i got her back from the mech.

I did some research on the net last night and found out that bmw and ZF trannsmission both got together and designed a rebuild kit which makes the ZF tranny stronger then it come out of the factory.
If thats the case whhy do i still have a kick when i put her in "D"???

I have a 20.000km one year warranty and I think I should take her back.

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum....php?t=1499438


^^^ Thats my source of info/opinion. Thanks................

dece_dece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:24 PM   #15
740-iLL
Founder of GTA7's
 
740-iLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Brampton
Posts: 1,067
Where did you get your transmission worked on before?

I highly recommend Bob at Toronto Automatic transmissions. He rebuilt mine for me as preventative maintenance and I have had no issues since.
__________________
Follow me on Twitter @SEVEN40iL
740-iLL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.