Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > Audio/Sound
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2013, 05:55 PM   #1
99528i
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 5
no sound

I just bought a 99 528i and it had an after market deck in it that didn't work so I bought a new one and wired it in and I have power to my deck but no sound from my speakers can any one help me with this problem?
99528i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 06:08 PM   #2
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,750
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
does no sound come at all or only when you try to play cd. does FM work?

if no sound period, the ACC wire is disconnected from the amp.

if no sound on CD (but works on FM), the acc wire is wired to the antenna.
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 06:13 PM   #3
99528i
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 5
nope I get no sound at all dosent matter if its on c.d aux or radio
99528i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 06:43 PM   #4
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,750
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
your amp is probably not getting acc power from the HU
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 08:07 PM   #5
99528i
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 5
wheres the amp located?
99528i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 09:07 PM   #6
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,750
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
in the trunk, but the wiring would be behind the radio. its probably a blue wire, or a white wire with a blue stripe.
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:06 AM   #7
99528i
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 5
I took a volt meter and I am getting power to the amp
99528i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 11:53 AM   #8
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,750
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
be sure you're taking the readings correctly, the amp always has power, but only turns on when the ACC wire is hot.

If you have a spare speaker you can try wiring one of the outputs of the deck directly to the speaker. You should hear music (albeit very quietly since its only using the internal amp on the HU)
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 01:11 PM   #9
T.Dot_E30
Classifieds Moderator
 
T.Dot_E30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 9,428
Did the previous owner make any changes to the stock wiring? Maybe he had a system in there and ripped it out before giving it to you.

I'm that case you'll probably have to trace each wire to see what he might have done. Maybe he by passed factory amp and ran wires to each speaker to an amp that is no longer there.
__________________
T.Dot_E30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 01:46 PM   #10
<3MyE36
-Richy Nevaless-
 
<3MyE36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 174
My father's E39 had the same problem, it turns out the Harness Adapter was missing a piece, check to see that your Harness Adapter is correct for your car, and if you think it is try wiring your OEM deck back in to see if it works.

-Rich
<3MyE36 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2013, 01:58 PM   #11
99528i
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 5
yeah this guy just cut wires and hardwired it in
99528i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014