Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-13-2013, 05:47 PM   #1
1bmw1
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GTA
Posts: 673
So who's got the new blackberry z10?



What's your opinion of it?
__________________
BMW...Now you're playing with power.
1bmw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 09:37 PM   #2
ChrisTO
∞ Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In my car
Posts: 815
phones not the issue...try hooking it up to most company's BES...completely different version of BES.
__________________
ChrisTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:16 PM   #3
1bmw1
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GTA
Posts: 673
Excuse my ignorance but what's this "BES" you speak of?
__________________
BMW...Now you're playing with power.
1bmw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:23 PM   #4
damameke
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,372
BES, BES5 does not support BB 10 device, but if you have Blackberry Device Service BDS)for Blackberry Mobile Fusion it will support the BB 10 device(activesync/Imap)

BES10 upgrade is expensive, so small shop will adopt the BDS
damameke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 10:25 PM   #5
damameke
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1bmw1 View Post
Excuse my ignorance but what's this "BES" you speak of?
BES - Blackberry Enterprise Server

Answer wasnt what you expected from your original post..
I looked at it at Bestbuy and personally I like it but waiting for my current contract to expire...
damameke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:01 PM   #6
1bmw1
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GTA
Posts: 673
I currently have the 9900 (bold). Will there be a difference if i pick this one up in regards to this BES? In other words, will i notice anything different?
__________________
BMW...Now you're playing with power.
1bmw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:25 PM   #7
ChrisTO
∞ Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In my car
Posts: 815
are you using your bold today in a corp environment? that really determines if you can move to z10 or not.

i am and can't get to it till probably the next release of BB10 NG comes out and gets installed in our environment. if it was personal use i would've tossed the POS phone out the window long ago and gone with a droid or iphone...

why even stay with BB at this point?
__________________
ChrisTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 11:48 PM   #8
ChrisTO
∞ Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In my car
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by damameke View Post
BES, BES5 does not support BB 10 device, but if you have Blackberry Device Service BDS)for Blackberry Mobile Fusion it will support the BB 10 device(activesync/Imap)

BES10 upgrade is expensive, so small shop will adopt the BDS
BB is targetted at the large environments and even there they messed up big time.

so exactly what market are they after? consumer space no one will touch it. small shops unlikely due to the cost. enterprise is filled with design flaws like the two listed below.

BB has nailed their own coffin...they have go to downstream market to 3rd world countries that are just entering into smart phones.

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/...D/td-p/2132637

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/...y/td-p/2129013
__________________
ChrisTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:29 AM   #9
damameke
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1bmw1 View Post
I currently have the 9900 (bold). Will there be a difference if i pick this one up in regards to this BES? In other words, will i notice anything different?
If it is for personal use, the Z10 definitely is a much better device than the bold..
so yes, you will see a lot of difference...
damameke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 10:29 AM   #10
1bmw1
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GTA
Posts: 673
Thanks for the info guys. The phone will be for personal use. I have always liked the ease of setting up emails, and of course the physical keyboard (which the z10 lacks of course) on the bb's, but if, for personal use should be better than my bold then i think i'll give it a shot.
__________________
BMW...Now you're playing with power.
1bmw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:07 PM   #11
HavocSteve
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,857
ChrisTO, if your willing to part with it, I have a BB Curve 8520 (old but still like new) and the new S3. Both has Otter Boxes. Straight trade for the Z10 if you have/want a droid. I have it listed for $500 used considering it's only a month old with all hardware in the box ect. I got the phone free from Rogers because they dicked me around >_<
__________________
HavocSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:40 PM   #12
sirex
King Sirex
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,850
WOW giving up S3 for Z10, wow.
__________________
sirex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 09:48 PM   #13
ChrisTO
∞ Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: In my car
Posts: 815
sorry i don't have a z10....i'm still on the latest Bold. I was merely highlighting the issues with the BES.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HavocSteve View Post
ChrisTO, if your willing to part with it, I have a BB Curve 8520 (old but still like new) and the new S3. Both has Otter Boxes. Straight trade for the Z10 if you have/want a droid. I have it listed for $500 used considering it's only a month old with all hardware in the box ect. I got the phone free from Rogers because they dicked me around >_<
__________________
ChrisTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2013, 10:34 PM   #14
Jamil
2nd Gear Member
 
Jamil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by damameke View Post
BES, BES5 does not support BB 10 device, but if you have Blackberry Device Service BDS)for Blackberry Mobile Fusion it will support the BB 10 device(activesync/Imap)

BES10 upgrade is expensive, so small shop will adopt the BDS
It's not an expensive upgrade if you already have BES 5 (not express). There's no server licensing cost and you can get per device client access licenses in a straight 1-to-1 trade up from BES 5 CALs through a public BB site.

Keep in mind if your company already allows iPhones and Android devices to connect directly to Exchange using ActiveSync you can do the same with BB10. You don't have to use BES with the new devices (unless it's company policy). You get some benefits using BES instead of straight ActiveSync like BlackBerry Balance and behind-the-firewall access to corporate sites. We've been running it for a few weeks, didn't cost us anything other than our time and a new VM.

Last edited by Jamil; 02-14-2013 at 10:37 PM.
Jamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015