Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Specific Regional Topics > Quebec/Gatineau/Ottawa
User Name
Password

Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 06-10-2012, 07:43 PM   #1
upshift
1st Gear Newbie

Help appreciated- somewhat stuck in Ottawa with my e34

I'll try to make this story as short as possible:

I'm a university student from Columbus, Ohio. I came to Ottawa in early May to complete an internship with Canadian Parliament. Everyone asks why I came to Canada, my response is "Why not?..." You've got a beautiful country and everyone I've met has been nothing but nice. Anyway...

I drove my '95 525iT up here. It has 133k on the clock and I am fairly experienced with repairing Bimmers- my garage consists of the e34, an e30, and a 1976 2002, so I wasn't worried about mechanical issues. Unfortunately, it turns out that I should have been.

The car made the drive from Columbus to Ottawa without incident- in fact, it was a lot of fun to drive it on a long highway trip. I later drove from Ottawa to Quebec City, again without incident. The issue occurred in Montreal, when I was forced to give the car to a hotel valet. I hate giving cars to valets, but have always thought my fears were unfounded and that I was just being too protective of my car.