Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name

Welcome to!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-25-2012, 10:15 AM   #16
2nd Gear Member
Hurricane240's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Milton,ON
Posts: 206

Your e30 has a dome light?! WTF!?! I want a dome light!

91 325i.. no dome light..
Hurricane240 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:06 PM   #17
2nd Gear Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by E30M42cab View Post
If you're talking about the dome lights, the switch on the door jamb is usually the culprit... shitty rusted ground or sticky switch.

Also, sometimes when hacks add an aftermarket alarm to their car, they use the door jamb switch for a door sensor.
North is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2012, 12:16 PM   #18
if I lived . I would be ~
everlast's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,847
If the door switch is bad or bulb is bad you'd still have 12V at the light. The light should always have 12V, the switches provide a ground circuit. So, make sure you check the red/green wire at the light with KNOWN good ground in the car.

If you have 12V, then its a grounding problem. If you don't, then the switches, etc don't matter, its a problem on the + side of the circuit.

I don't know what the green wire is in the pic, but is that a bare wire exposed? Definitely fix if so.
everlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 10:28 AM   #19
1st Gear Newbie
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Latvia
Posts: 1

I have the same problem all fuses are ok but the voltage doesn't go to any of interior bulbs, i have aftermarket alarm so gona check that, any other advice?
criss is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015