Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-07-2012, 08:01 PM   #1
Vrbovsky
pod stromom
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Sticks... London durring the day
Posts: 615
3.2 s52 swap ECU?

I've read numerous threads on a few different forums regarding the s52 swap into a 328. It seems pretty straight forward to me...

All I need is the motor preferably with AC and Steering pump...

Got all that.

My question is about the ECU. can I just flash the ecu with an s52 program? I don't see why so many threads list the ECU as a needed part.

other than dropping in the motor and hooking/plugging everything in and the ecu, is there anything else I need to know? I saw something about a no-start situation and reprogramming an EWS (i think)

any insight is appreciated!

also wondering if I should put the s52 in my e30.... hmmm
Vrbovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 09:33 PM   #2
doogee
Stance is Gay.
 
doogee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 3,452
Send a message via MSN to doogee
Ideally you'll want the ECU, EWS and Key all from the same vehicle.

Then you just swap the ECU, EWS and switch the chips between the keys and it'll start up no problem.
__________________


Dakar M3 Track Build Thread
doogee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 08:42 AM   #3
cormier
6th Gear Member
 
cormier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St. George, ON
Posts: 1,607
I think he's implying his ews is already the same vehicle key and ecu -- what dme do you have? Silver label? I believe if you chip it to 21.5 injectors you should be fine. If you refer to the e30 swap sections, people use many different dmes with a chip and works out.

edit: this isnt exactly the thread I was looking for but you can see from this that he's got 413 red label m50-based DMEs running s50/s52 tunes.

http://www.r3vlimited.com/board/show...&highlight=DME

These are the different options from TMS, injectors being the big difference between models

http://www.turnermotorsport.com/p-13...injectors.aspx

edit again: I guess you already have 21.5# injectors? I didnt realize the 328s had them not just the M3s. If you already had those injectors I think you should be fine, EWS won't be a problem because youre not changing anything in the system by keeping the same DME/key

Ps put it in your e30 lol
__________________


Last edited by cormier; 01-08-2012 at 09:38 AM.
cormier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:35 PM   #4
doogee
Stance is Gay.
 
doogee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 3,452
Send a message via MSN to doogee
All the information you're giving him is only good if he converts to OBD1 which is a waste of his time. You can't "chip" an m52 or s52 ecu.
__________________


Dakar M3 Track Build Thread
doogee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 04:08 PM   #5
cormier
6th Gear Member
 
cormier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St. George, ON
Posts: 1,607
My mistake, but wouldn't he not have to change his DME?
__________________

cormier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 05:28 PM   #6
T.Dot_E30
Classifieds Moderator
 
T.Dot_E30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 9,431
Im pretty sure it's possible to delete/bypass EWS on obdII swaps if you prefer not to get it working.

Speak to someone like MarkD or other software tuner.
__________________
T.Dot_E30 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:05 PM   #7
Vrbovsky
pod stromom
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Sticks... London durring the day
Posts: 615
SO I'll need the ECU, EWS and keys from the same m3 for this to work. I have read that the new ecu and the existing ews can be synced?

I'd rather flash my ecu and get the ews synced since i"m going to be modding the engine over the next while to set it up for track one day and a remap is something I'll do regardless...

if anyone knows where to get a sync done then please post!
Vrbovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:06 PM   #8
Vrbovsky
pod stromom
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Sticks... London durring the day
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by doogee View Post
Ideally you'll want the ECU, EWS and Key all from the same vehicle.

Then you just swap the ECU, EWS and switch the chips between the keys and it'll start up no problem.

this i think?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-E36-M3-R...#ht_611wt_1037
Vrbovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:33 PM   #9
doogee
Stance is Gay.
 
doogee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 3,452
Send a message via MSN to doogee
^^ You could do that.

Your other option is to just put an S52 ECU in, but then you'll need a shop to align your S52 ECU with your existing EWS.

Just about any shop that specializes in BMW can do it. Try Stancefactory since they're in your neck of the woods!
__________________


Dakar M3 Track Build Thread
doogee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 11:33 PM   #10
Vrbovsky
pod stromom
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Sticks... London durring the day
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by doogee View Post
^^ You could do that.

Your other option is to just put an S52 ECU in, but then you'll need a shop to align your S52 ECU with your existing EWS.

Just about any shop that specializes in BMW can do it. Try Stancefactory since they're in your neck of the woods!
hey thanks for the tip... but I dont think stancefactory is anywhere near me.. Im between London and Sarnia... I'm pretty much the BMW specialist out here.

I doubt there are any remap guys in London though... I wouldn't know how to find them if there were!
Vrbovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 04:46 AM   #11
iverson03tj
5th Gear Member
 
iverson03tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 931
woah im begining to think an s52 swap is alot harder than it looks

Vrbovsky have u found a very informative thread about the swap, because i just so happen to have collected a few peenies over the winter season while i take the damn TTC and im looking into this swap,

Also can you run a m52 tranny with an s52? i know its probably not ideal, but i just put in a new clutch in my ytanny with less that 5000 k in it , i wanna atleast go threw that clutch before i put in my zf tranny
__________________
e39 M5 (s62)- Muffler Delete, Timmay Tips,
e30 325ic - Hard Top, Matte Black
e36 328is - (m52)AA S/c'd, M50 Mani, 3.23 LSD, M3 Brakes, Zimmer rotors, hps pads, Racing Dynamic Strut Bar, Depos, m3 Bumper, Intake, Spal fan, poly RTABs, Eibach Swaybars, Koni yellow, Mishimoto Rad, Silicone hose, Alumi T-housing, Depo w/LED Angels, LED tails, 12' Alpine Type R, Suede head liner, LTW Low rise spoiler
PREVIOUS CARS
92' 325is (m52) - M3 conversion AA S/c'd
'97 Euro Estroil E36 M3 Vert (S50B32)
iverson03tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 02:56 PM   #12
doogee
Stance is Gay.
 
doogee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ancaster
Posts: 3,452
Send a message via MSN to doogee
Quote:
Originally Posted by iverson03tj View Post
woah im begining to think an s52 swap is alot harder than it looks

Vrbovsky have u found a very informative thread about the swap, because i just so happen to have collected a few peenies over the winter season while i take the damn TTC and im looking into this swap,

Also can you run a m52 tranny with an s52? i know its probably not ideal, but i just put in a new clutch in my ytanny with less that 5000 k in it , i wanna atleast go threw that clutch before i put in my zf tranny

The 328 and M3 have the same manual transmissions in North America. You can use your M52 flywheel and clutch and won't have a problem.

I'll reply to your PM soon btw
__________________


Dakar M3 Track Build Thread
doogee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2012, 03:52 PM   #13
Jon@Bimmersport
MaXsponsor
 
Jon@Bimmersport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 13,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vrbovsky View Post
I've read numerous threads on a few different forums regarding the s52 swap into a 328. It seems pretty straight forward to me...

All I need is the motor preferably with AC and Steering pump...

Got all that.

My question is about the ECU. can I just flash the ecu with an s52 program? I don't see why so many threads list the ECU as a needed part.

other than dropping in the motor and hooking/plugging everything in and the ecu, is there anything else I need to know? I saw something about a no-start situation and reprogramming an EWS (i think)

any insight is appreciated!

also wondering if I should put the s52 in my e30.... hmmm
The Siemens ECU for the M52 and S52 apparently have different circuitry from what I was told a while ago...like comparing a Intel Celeron processor and an Intel Pentium 4 processor. I did the same swap on my 328, with M50 manifold and put out 190HP. I even raced a 335i, cleared my adaptations in the car before we went and pumped him. The car passed E-tests as well, the fuel trims were OK along with other functions control by the DME. Although I am not saying it's the right thing to do.

EWS alignment has to be done, unless you want 2 different sets of keys. You can also get a tuner that can disable EWS on the ECU letting you swap ECU's whenever you want.

If you are too far,you can ship me your ECU and I can do an EWS Delete and/or download a tune for you at the same time. Give us a call if you'd like the assistance.
__________________

Authorized Ontario dealer for Active Autowerke|VF-Engineering|[/color]ESS TuningAFE|Bilstein Suspension|H&R Suspension|KW suspension|Brembo Brake Systems| Stoptech| - Call us for the best pricing please DO NOT PM in regards to pricing

Maintenance|Performance|Tuning & Forced Induction
Jon@Bimmersport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 01:36 AM   #14
iverson03tj
5th Gear Member
 
iverson03tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 931
Quote:
Originally Posted by doogee View Post
The 328 and M3 have the same manual transmissions in North America. You can use your M52 flywheel and clutch and won't have a problem.

I'll reply to your PM soon btw
wow till this day i thought the 328 had a getrag tranny n the m3 a ZF:S

boy i feel stupid
__________________
e39 M5 (s62)- Muffler Delete, Timmay Tips,
e30 325ic - Hard Top, Matte Black
e36 328is - (m52)AA S/c'd, M50 Mani, 3.23 LSD, M3 Brakes, Zimmer rotors, hps pads, Racing Dynamic Strut Bar, Depos, m3 Bumper, Intake, Spal fan, poly RTABs, Eibach Swaybars, Koni yellow, Mishimoto Rad, Silicone hose, Alumi T-housing, Depo w/LED Angels, LED tails, 12' Alpine Type R, Suede head liner, LTW Low rise spoiler
PREVIOUS CARS
92' 325is (m52) - M3 conversion AA S/c'd
'97 Euro Estroil E36 M3 Vert (S50B32)
iverson03tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2014