Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2011, 03:00 AM   #1
noid
5th Gear Member
 
noid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burlington Ontario
Posts: 951
Does anyone have a broken/spare 4 cylinder cluster?

Looking for a 4 cylinder coder plug to open/take pictures of for research purposes.

This is a 6 cylinder coder plug (looks the same as the 4 cylinder from the outside):


This is what it looks like when opened:


Can someone take a picture of the upside and underside of the dismantled coder plug from a 4 cylinder?
noid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 05:29 AM   #2
cormier
6th Gear Member
 
cormier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 1,565
I can try to get you a picture I'll be pulling my cluster soon
__________________

cormier is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:24 AM   #3
craz azn
6th Gear Member
 
craz azn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Port Perry
Posts: 7,450
Send a message via MSN to craz azn
^^ Brian, unfortunately your cluster won't have this style plug as it is an early cluster. Only the later clusters have this style plug that goes in from the front.
__________________

Rippin' Proper | Youtube | Vimeo |
craz azn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 10:48 AM   #4
mgunter
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 153
Would one out of a 1991 318is work for you? I think I still have the rest of the parts from the cluster at home. I can check tonight for you.
mgunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 11:09 AM   #5
noid
5th Gear Member
 
noid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burlington Ontario
Posts: 951
I think it would, that would be great if you could check.
noid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 11:20 AM   #6
mgunter
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 153
I'll put a reminder on my phone.
mgunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:57 PM   #7
mgunter
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 153
I hope these help! I'm doing this all on my phone so if you want me to email you the pics I can. You can also have the part if you need it. I'm planning on going out to the event on sunday at mosport. If you're not going then I can give it to someone else you know that is. .. If I am able to make it out. I could also just throw it in the mail....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0066.jpg (419.5 KB, 40 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_0065.jpg (423.9 KB, 42 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_0064.jpg (454.6 KB, 41 views)
mgunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:58 PM   #8
mgunter
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 153
Sorry they're so huge...
mgunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 07:38 PM   #9
noid
5th Gear Member
 
noid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Burlington Ontario
Posts: 951
Thanks alot for the pictures!! Can you tell me what the code is ontop of the small chip on the board?


I wont be making it out to mosport on sunday. I dont need the actual plug right now, I just needed to see if the circuitry is the same between the 6 vs 4 plug, and what chip code is ontop of the chip.
noid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:20 PM   #10
mgunter
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kingston
Posts: 153
Not a problem.

The codes are:

HML
087
9119

The number on the circuit board is:

5191


And if you ever do need it just let me know. I also have most of the rest of the speedometer minus a couple of guages. Funny story about that...my gas guage was working intermittantly so I put in the one from the '91 and it was working until one weekend it stopped working when I was low on gas. I was driving home and ran out of gas 50 yards from a gas station. So the next day I changed the guage back to the original and it has worked beautifully ever since.
I really don't need it because I have an '85 325e.
mgunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.