Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E46 (1998 - 2005)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2011, 02:34 PM   #1
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
02 sensor codes adn bimmersport automotive

Recently my bmw battery light was comming on once and a while . Anf then shortly after I started getting o2 sensor codes for the pre-cat sensors. I took it to bimmersport to have it checked. ANd they were like " the ecu needs to be re-programmed". And if that doesnt work you will have to changed alternator and o2 sensors." So I said ok fine. They reprogrammed it and no lights have come back but since reprogram the idle rpm is low around 5-600. And instaad of getting over 500km a tank, i am gettings like around 300km. So it must be running extremley rich. Can this mess up my car if its running to rich? Is it possble they just reset the ecu to accept the values that were tripping off the dash lights? . It doesnt feel right. I think I should of just changed the o2 sensors. They are saying to brings it back to have a look.

Last edited by dubzino; 01-08-2011 at 02:39 PM.
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 02:37 PM   #2
biginstreets
bitches love me!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bolton
Posts: 165
bring it to another shop and see what they say.
__________________
drive it like you stole it... or at least like someone else paid for it!

Last edited by biginstreets; 01-08-2011 at 02:38 PM. Reason: decided not to be an ass.
biginstreets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 03:06 PM   #3
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Now I am seeing that running a car too rich can harm your engine and cats. Would there be any damage done after a week ?

Last edited by dubzino; 01-08-2011 at 04:14 PM.
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 05:34 PM   #4
1bmw1
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GTA
Posts: 509
I doubt that you did any significant damage. Just take it to another shop, or take it back to them to look at. I would try and get a guarantee of some sort though. You don't want to be changing every part to fix one.
__________________
BMW...Now you're playing with power.
1bmw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 06:06 PM   #5
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Ya I know what you mean. I have seen mechanics in the past that pull that kinda stuff.
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 07:50 PM   #6
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Call it a fluke. But I go to check my alternator voltage since my car has been acting funny after the ecu reset. And the voltages are jumping around from 14 down to 13 ,12.9 just at idle. It seems all they did was turn of my dash lights but all the problems are still underlying. I wonder what the hell these guys did? Its like a constant power drop ever few seconds which is what it was doing when the bettery light was on. This is a joke. My other beamer that I had we always took to the stealers and never had a problem. This is what I get for going indy I guess. You may pay extra with them but in the end you dont have to keep coming back.
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 12:22 AM   #7
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor
 
Eurostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 14,997
ROFL...By reseting the light, all you can do is that...Wont do anything else. If the problem comes back, the light will come back on! Might take a while tho. I dont see why you didnt change the O2 sensor anyways, it it comse on as a code, its only a matter of time untill it happens again. It will affect your gas milage, and is part of regular maintenance...Do it right, change everything that needs replacing.
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E93 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X3 X5 M3 M5 Z4


2nd location opening SOON!!!!

Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
Eurostyle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:13 AM   #8
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
I know but I was just going according to what they said needed to be fixed.
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:15 AM   #9
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Also they didnt just reset the light. I have a code reader that can do that lol. They siad the ecu needed reprogramming. It took an hour to reprogram it and $160 to mess up my car.
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:36 AM   #10
Michel
6th Gear Member
 
Michel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 1,608
so take it back and do the recommended fixes they told u to do if the problems persisted...
__________________
Michel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:58 AM   #11
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Yes but the lights never came back on. ? I took to my regular mechanic and he checked the voltage of the o2 sensors . He checked the voltage of the alternator.All values are incorrect and he doesnt understand why it is not tripping off the dash lights like before I went to them.

Last edited by dubzino; 01-09-2011 at 11:23 AM.
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 08:04 PM   #12
1bmw1
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GTA
Posts: 509
I don't quite understand why would one need to reprogram an ECU for that? If bimmersport worked on your car then they would know what was done so i would suggest you take it back to them to resolve the issue. No sense in getting more techs to look at it for now since you're not 100% sure what was done initially. I think if you got the 02 sensor code in the first place then chances are that they need replacing.
__________________
BMW...Now you're playing with power.

Last edited by 1bmw1; 01-09-2011 at 08:07 PM.
1bmw1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2011, 09:16 AM   #13
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
UPDATE: Well after all it turns out they did reset the dme properly and did what they were supposed to do. I had it checked out again and all is well. They were very professional and knowledgable of my vehicle. Very good guys. Thanks again guys for helping me out!
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:45 AM   #14
hamant
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubzino View Post
UPDATE: Well after all it turns out they did reset the dme properly and did what they were supposed to do. I had it checked out again and all is well. They were very professional and knowledgable of my vehicle. Very good guys. Thanks again guys for helping me out!
so what was the problem?
hamant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 07:44 PM   #15
dubzino
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Had the incorrect battery in the car. I dont know why they didnt see that in the first place but ahwell.
dubzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.