Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name

Welcome to!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-14-2011, 11:05 PM   #1
TheLoneVR!'s Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 4,110
Business line and Internet ...Suggestions??

Hey guys...

as the title states. Im looking at switching my home line to a business line. Anyone have any experience with this?

Im currently with Bell and they want a 3 year contract. Im also looking at Acanac...

Any suggestions are good !


TheLoneVR! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 02:24 AM   #2
TheLoneVR!'s Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 4,110
anyone have any experience at all with this?
TheLoneVR! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 05:00 AM   #3
op sucks cock
propr'one's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,862
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
What is the purpose for this change? "buisness internet and phone" doesn't mean anything.

If you need more bandwidth, you can get cable up to 25mbit, which should be plenty of bandwidth for any buisness you're running at home (short of a datacentre, isp, etc).

For phone service, a buisness may need additional lines. Even if it didn't, i'd probably still go with voip, but choose a service provider you know you'll have a fast/reliable link to.
I run a canadian led kit & hid kit company, if you have any questions about led headlights or hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here:

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
Fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black, ohlins, pazzo, cat delete, vance hines csone, YEC racing tune
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:27 AM   #4
Classifieds Moderator
T.Dot_E30's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: T.Dot
Posts: 9,657
We have a Rogers business connection at work as a backup, it's an old plan with no cap, but I think it's only a 10mb/512k connection. Not sure if it's still available.

What specifically are you looking for? It's the same thing as residential, but costs more and no caps.
T.Dot_E30 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 02:55 PM   #5
Reverse Gear Member
Coupedup's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Milfton
Posts: 191
I just went through this saga in December.....long story short I wanted Rogers but they do not service my area so ended up with Bell.

One thing to think about: If you register your account as "business" you get VIP service in the event of "service interuption" as a tech will be dispatched quickly but you pay for the privledge....

If you register as "residential" and you have issues you could be waiting 3-4 days to get a tech dispatched which blows if your internetz in down. (ask me how I know)

As well: with residential your business name will not show up on call display only your name lastname first initial which may or may not matter to you.

the 3 year term bothered me at first but hey- I hope to be in business for alot longer than 3 years plus Bell has all my business: cell/fax/interweb/phones so I bundle and save abit.

I hate Bell more than anyone but if you can survive the BS with the initial set up and 900 follow up calls to them they are pretty reliable....
Coupedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 07:43 PM   #6
5th Gear Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,196
I would go with a third party like Teksavvy.
325isdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 06:14 PM   #7
6th Gear Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,168
Originally Posted by 325isdan View Post
I would go with a third party like Teksavvy.
The problem is that Teksavvy relies on Bell tech's... So even though you pay more for Business internet with them, you get the same service as home and can be out of internet for 5+ days (ask me how I know).
NOTORIOUS VR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:36 PM   #8
TheLoneVR!'s Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Home
Posts: 4,110
guys thank you for posting!

Thats all great advice!

I also looked into Acanac and Techsavvy and really ....the problem lies with the service.
So i think I will NEED to suck it up and go with Bell for the time being. I dont like the idea of a 3 year contract but hey...there are worse things out there.

Thanks peeps!!
TheLoneVR! is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015