Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E46 (1998 - 2005)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2010, 11:21 PM   #1
sol_searchin
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: K-W
Posts: 100
2003 BMW 320i - Climate control swap

My climate control look's kind of cheapy is there anyway to switch to the one in the 325/330i? I'm really new to the BMW scene so please bear with the noobness
sol_searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 11:29 PM   #2
simplycars
6th Gear Member
 
simplycars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oakville / Mississauga
Posts: 1,592
digital one won't function 100%
__________________
simplycars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 11:39 PM   #3
Sneaky
One of the Zealots
 
Sneaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,568
I looked into this, its not worth it to do the swap.
__________________
THE OFFICIAL BLACK SEDAN THREAD because Nothing breaks necks like a Black BMW.
Sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 11:53 PM   #4
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor
 
Eurostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplycars View Post
digital one won't function 100%
Do you know what function wont work? Last time i checked, i didnt see anything missing...
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E93 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X3 X5 M3 M5 Z4


2nd location opening SOON!!!!

Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
Eurostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 12:21 AM   #5
sol_searchin
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: K-W
Posts: 100
So who am I to listen to lol, is it doable? plug and play? I don't understand the functionality part because all it would do is blow cold/hot air lol Maybe I'm being a noob so please clarify
sol_searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 12:37 AM   #6
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor
 
Eurostyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milton
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by sol_searchin View Post
So who am I to listen to lol, is it doable? plug and play? I don't understand the functionality part because all it would do is blow cold/hot air lol Maybe I'm being a noob so please clarify
Things are not that simple! It DOES plug and play, i know because i did it...blows air etc! BUT it has many functions, so ONE of the flaps may not open, to allow correct airflow, or the anything of the sort!

Best way is to come by and plug one in, you can see how it works, even if its 99% of the functions, it might work for you! (some are useless, like the "automacit recirculate" that closes outside airflow when it detects "bad odours")
__________________
BIMMER HEAVEN
Specialized in BMW recycling, all OEM used parts
Up to 90% off new cost!!!
Most models E30 E36 E46 E90 E92 E93 E34 E39 E60 E32 E38 E65 E66 X3 X5 M3 M5 Z4


2nd location opening SOON!!!!

Call 11-8PM 416 821-2578
New inventory daily. 50+ cars in stock!
Eurostyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 12:57 AM   #7
sol_searchin
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: K-W
Posts: 100
Pretty much I just like the look of the digital, if it engages the heat and cold (A/C) that is PERFECT lol I don't need a feature that closes outside airflow if something smell's, because who know's I might like the smell haha I'm guessing you can help me out with this! lol

Last edited by sol_searchin; 10-16-2010 at 03:07 AM.
sol_searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 02:30 AM   #8
Sneaky
One of the Zealots
 
Sneaky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,568
If you do it let me know, I considered this but one of the people at bimmersport or RMP (dont remember) said they have to basically tear the whole car apart. That, its not simply plug and play.
__________________
THE OFFICIAL BLACK SEDAN THREAD because Nothing breaks necks like a Black BMW.
Sneaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 03:05 AM   #9
sol_searchin
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: K-W
Posts: 100
Definetly will thanks
sol_searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 09:19 AM   #10
simplycars
6th Gear Member
 
simplycars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oakville / Mississauga
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eurostyle View Post
Do you know what function wont work? Last time i checked, i didnt see anything missing...
auto function doesn't work 100% - keeps fan speed lower but states it is on high.
if you set you manual to max ac and then swap the digital one - it will work until you change the settings.
it is a programming issue.
__________________

Last edited by simplycars; 10-16-2010 at 09:32 AM.
simplycars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 04:23 PM   #11
sol_searchin
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: K-W
Posts: 100
Is there any way to reprogram it?
sol_searchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.