Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2010, 06:53 AM   #1
BimmerDriver
Estoril Blau Member
 
BimmerDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 89
Send a message via MSN to BimmerDriver
How to find out whether or not do I have a Dinan software installed?

Guys, this may or may not be a stupid question so please do not mock. I bought my car from a dealer who claimed my car had a Dinan chip and Cold air intake installed by the previous owner. I could obviously spot the Dinan CAI there but never bothered to check whether the chip part of the story was true cause to be honest that wasn't one of the reasons why I decided to purchase the car.

Questions are:

1. When you install a CAI, do you consequently have to install a chip to reprogram the ECU in order to take advantage of the CAI or the stock software adjusts the mixture and other parameters by itself once it detects a larger air flow?

2. What's the easiest way to check whether do I have Dinan software installed?

3. If I do have the software in: do they normally release newer versions of the software? in other words, should I worry about getting the latest one? (this one may sound really stupid but bear with me, I'm an IT guy so software updates can only sound normal to me haha)
BimmerDriver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 11:44 AM   #2
Mystikal
Moderator/Event-Coordinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Stance
Posts: 12,808
1. The ECU will adjust itself.

2. Redline would be 7000 instead of 6800 (1st and 2nd gears).

3. No need to update, although a more aggressive software flash such as MarkD would produce significantly more power (Dinan is very conservative).
__________________

@stancejay
Mystikal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 06:45 PM   #3
richie_s999
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 4,537
+1 on the Mark D software!!!!

both my E30 build and now my E36 build has been greatly helped by his magic!!!
richie_s999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 06:49 PM   #4
grapebimmer
Keepin' it low key
 
grapebimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 160
The Cult of MarkD!
__________________
Jb


2007 e90 328i Monaco Blue
aFe Magnum FORCE Stage-2 Si Pro 5R CAI
RIP '84 e30 325e, '87 e30 325e, '96 e36 328i and 2000 e46 323i
grapebimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 07:30 AM   #5
BimmerDriver
Estoril Blau Member
 
BimmerDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 89
Send a message via MSN to BimmerDriver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystikal View Post
1. The ECU will adjust itself.

2. Redline would be 7000 instead of 6800 (1st and 2nd gears).

3. No need to update, although a more aggressive software flash such as MarkD would produce significantly more power (Dinan is very conservative).
Thanks Jay! Now, when you say redline, you mean if I rev it, it'll bounce off the limiter at 7000 ?

Since you mentioned MarkD's software, if I use a more aggressive software such as his on a daily basis, will it cause excessive wear and tear on the engine on the long term?

Last edited by BimmerDriver; 09-10-2010 at 07:33 AM.
BimmerDriver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 07:41 AM   #6
grapebimmer
Keepin' it low key
 
grapebimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 160
I believe you can call MarkD's flash more 'finely tuned,' rather than more aggressive than the Dinan. Sayin' that... my car runs a hell-of-a-lot better since the flash!

I wholly recommend to be Mark'd!
__________________
Jb


2007 e90 328i Monaco Blue
aFe Magnum FORCE Stage-2 Si Pro 5R CAI
RIP '84 e30 325e, '87 e30 325e, '96 e36 328i and 2000 e46 323i
grapebimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:38 AM   #7
MarkD
Banned
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Your DME!
Posts: 2,414
I heard people mentioning me so hear I am!

Bimmerdriver, you got all the correct answers already in the responses above. (thanks to both of you) though I would say that my tunes are more aggressive than the ones from California, aspecially because they don't have proper 91 octane gas there. And on top of that, Dinan tries to sell you a lot of hardware so you need stage 3 or 4 to get software similar to what I sell you right away.

With a slightly raised rev limit, you would just use it occasionally, not 10 times a day so wear on the motor is not increased. If you buy my software, you have 10 days to try and I'll restore your car back to stock if you feel that it does not work as expected for you.

And if you really want to know if there is some non-stock software in the car now, I can tell you by reading the ECU and comparing it to a stock file. Last September I tuned an E39 M5 and they were told there was Dinan software in there, but it was completely stock.

Last edited by MarkD; 09-10-2010 at 08:55 AM.
MarkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:10 AM   #8
Bullet Ride
Cars in Perpetual Repair
 
Bullet Ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Guelph
Posts: 5,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkD View Post
Last September I tuned an E39 M5 and they were told there was Dinan software in there, but it was completely stock.
Gotta love when a stealership installs a general software update and overwrites the performance software as well

MarkD is the man!
__________________
Bullet Ride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 03:27 PM   #9
grapebimmer
Keepin' it low key
 
grapebimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 160
A Mark'd man. LMAO
__________________
Jb


2007 e90 328i Monaco Blue
aFe Magnum FORCE Stage-2 Si Pro 5R CAI
RIP '84 e30 325e, '87 e30 325e, '96 e36 328i and 2000 e46 323i
grapebimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 10:12 AM   #10
BimmerDriver
Estoril Blau Member
 
BimmerDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 89
Send a message via MSN to BimmerDriver
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkD View Post
I heard people mentioning me so hear I am!

Bimmerdriver, you got all the correct answers already in the responses above. (thanks to both of you) though I would say that my tunes are more aggressive than the ones from California, aspecially because they don't have proper 91 octane gas there. And on top of that, Dinan tries to sell you a lot of hardware so you need stage 3 or 4 to get software similar to what I sell you right away.

With a slightly raised rev limit, you would just use it occasionally, not 10 times a day so wear on the motor is not increased. If you buy my software, you have 10 days to try and I'll restore your car back to stock if you feel that it does not work as expected for you.

And if you really want to know if there is some non-stock software in the car now, I can tell you by reading the ECU and comparing it to a stock file. Last September I tuned an E39 M5 and they were told there was Dinan software in there, but it was completely stock.
Hello guys, I revved the engine the other day, and as it turns out I don't have the software cause it tops out at 6800 rpm. I'd like to thank you all for the replies, also, thanks for the info on your software Mark, I actually am very interested in your product.

I need however to get my car tuned back up to stock specs first, the other day I did a 0-60 run in 8.4 secs while stock should be around 6.5 secs since mine is a cabrio and automatic

Maybe towards the end of the year I will contact you though, for what I've noticed you are close to where I live anyways (East York). How much power and torque can I expect to gain from your software?

Also, does anyone know where can I buy replacement filters for my Dinan intake in the GTA or online?

Last edited by BimmerDriver; 09-17-2010 at 10:14 AM.
BimmerDriver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2010, 11:40 AM   #11
richie_s999
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oshawa
Posts: 4,537
If your coming to bimmercruise this Sunday come find me at the autocross, I know my car is just a 325is, but you can catch a ride with me on one of my autocross runs to see the jump Marks chip gave my car. That goes for anyone else who's thinking of Marks software too.
richie_s999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 11:35 AM   #12
Ahctuning
2nd Gear Member
 
Ahctuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Torono
Posts: 288
Careful before anyone jumps into upgrading software. I heard (true or not), that if your car has (random) power loss issues, with or without CEL on, get that resolved first before getting into software performance upgrading. Will a performance software upgrade address the power loss issue? No according to doubters and naysayers out there.

So get your ride in tune firsts, otherwise you'll end up worst than before and see your hard-earned money down the drain twice. one for spending the money on the performance s/w upgrade and second to spend the money on the original problem (random intermittent power loss) which may require a factory (not performance) software upgrade and/or new maf, crankshaft sensor, etc.

Above applies not only to e36.

True or not, anyone?

Last edited by Ahctuning; 09-23-2010 at 11:39 AM.
Ahctuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 12:05 PM   #13
MarkD
Banned
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Your DME!
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahctuning View Post
Careful before anyone jumps into upgrading software. I heard (true or not), that if your car has (random) power loss issues, with or without CEL on, get that resolved first before getting into software performance upgrading. Will a performance software upgrade address the power loss issue? No according to doubters and naysayers out there.

So get your ride in tune firsts, otherwise you'll end up worst than before and see your hard-earned money down the drain twice. one for spending the money on the performance s/w upgrade and second to spend the money on the original problem (random intermittent power loss) which may require a factory (not performance) software upgrade and/or new maf, crankshaft sensor, etc.

Above applies not only to e36.

True or not, anyone?
Performance software will not fix an inherent problem with the car. But I wouldn't say that money went down the drain twice if someone did upgrade a car with a problem. He just has to fix the problem and I'll load in the latest performance software. But I will say that when people say their car has a problem and ask me if performance software will fix it, I tell them no it won't and come back after they fix whatever is wrong. I see a few cars that have old software but not many, and most power loss problems are not due to old software, but failing sensors or other mechanical issues.

I have the tools to load in the latest BMW software in all cars made up until around 2005, and will be able to do that if someone wants performance software and has an old version.
MarkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 12:20 PM   #14
Ahctuning
2nd Gear Member
 
Ahctuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Torono
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkD View Post
Performance software will not fix an inherent problem with the car. But I wouldn't say that money went down the drain twice if someone did upgrade a car with a problem. He just has to fix the problem and I'll load in the latest performance software. But I will say that when people say their car has a problem and ask me if performance software will fix it, I tell them no it won't and come back after they fix whatever is wrong. I see a few cars that have old software but not many, and most power loss problems are not due to old software, but failing sensors or other mechanical issues.

I have the tools to load in the latest BMW software in all cars made up until around 2005, and will be able to do that if someone wants performance software and has an old version.
Yeah that is the moral honest right thing to do imo. advise the customer to fix outstanding drivability issues then and only then upgrade for performance. You know it.

Mark Im not understanding the bolded part. COuld you please expound on it a little bit.
Ahctuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2010, 01:04 PM   #15
MarkD
Banned
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Your DME!
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ahctuning View Post
Yeah that is the moral honest right thing to do imo. advise the customer to fix outstanding drivability issues then and only then upgrade for performance. You know it.

Mark Im not understanding the bolded part. Could you please expound on it a little bit.
That means that instead of going to a dealership to get the software upgraded, I can do it. But I'll only do it if someone is buying my performance software, not otherwise. And I can't currently update cars that need an OPS head for updating, just the older ones.
MarkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dinan chip cai software

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.