Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2014, 02:31 PM   #1
Quickid
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West End
Posts: 433
Anyone here with Wind Mobile



Currently with Bell and I'm looking to switch to a different provider but wondering if Wind's network is any good.

Thanks...
Quickid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 10:28 AM   #2
2str836
Build in progress
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Durham
Posts: 82
winds pretty good I have the old 30 unlimited plan, I believe its 35 now. make sure you get a good phone, because the phone will determine how good your service will be. It's a lil tuff finding a unlocked wind compatible phone. I've been using them before they even came to T.O when the only wind store was in Hamilton lol.
__________________
'98 328i'
/OO\(lll)(lll)/OO\
2str836 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 11:07 AM   #3
mkgino
6th Gear Member
 
mkgino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7,686
I've been with wind since the beginning. I have a $40 unlimited plan and will never go back to the big three. Data is not as fast (big deal) and there are some pockets where you may occasionally not have service, but overall would highly recommend.

For most up to date info check here http://www.howardforums.com/forumdis...51-WIND-Mobile
__________________
mkgino is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 09:10 PM   #4
dbworld4k
Addict
 
dbworld4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: YYZ / ORD
Posts: 7,405
Anyone here with Wind Mobile

After nearly 10 years with Rogers, I just switched to Wind right now for their unlimited North American call/text/data plan. Only gripe is that iMessage/FaceTime doesn't work straight of the bat. Have to do some debugging. Signal strength is actually better than Rogers in North Brampton. MKGino is right about data, I've only seen 3G speeds today but it's not a deal breaker.

I bet it'll have even better coverage in the US as they use AT&T/T-Mobile, lol. I was tired of paying $65/month to Rogers and $50/month in the US. Having one number to use between both countries with total freedom is amazing.
__________________


'02 ///M5 Imola Red / Imola Red '09 335i Alpine White / Coral Red
dbworld4k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 10:03 AM   #5
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,807
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
although i know a few people with wind who are happy with the service, all GSM carriers will have overall better service than AWS. personally i find the GSM carriers in canada to have very similar network performance (particularly in urban areas), so deciding amongst them is more about plan and pricing.

im currently on bell's network through virgin, i pay 45$ a month for a gig of data, free incoming, evenings, vm, texts/mms and 500 minutes.

anuk if you decide to change again you can check out verizon's us/canada plan
__________________
I run a canadian HID kit company, if you have any questions about hid kits in canada or would like to check out our products please contact me here: http://absolutehid.ca

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's michelin supersports, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's michelin supersports, deoranged, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC SS v3, GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
Fun: 2006 YZF-R6, black
propr'one is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 07:58 AM   #6
Quickid
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: West End
Posts: 433
Thanks for the input guys
Quickid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2014, 10:54 PM   #7
2slow2race
6th Gear Member
 
2slow2race's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 1,411
i might switch to wind. i will not pay 85 a month for 3 gigs of data. that is what telus
gave me today as a retentions plans. i have been with them since 1999. fack off.
2slow2race is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2014, 01:47 PM   #8
dbworld4k
Addict
 
dbworld4k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: YYZ / ORD
Posts: 7,405
I've had it for a little over two weeks now. No complaints and loving the savings!
__________________


'02 ///M5 Imola Red / Imola Red '09 335i Alpine White / Coral Red
dbworld4k is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 09:13 PM   #9
Colombian
2nd Gear Newbie
 
Colombian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Burlington, ON
Posts: 334
Got Wind with a Samsung S5 right now. had the service for 3 years. work pretty good in GTA. sucked when I went to Montreal last year. there was no signal. but i seen an add in a store lately that says that signal is now available all over Canada. I got 60 unlimited everything plan including international text and call and data in USA. works amazing. best value hands down
Colombian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015