Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2010, 09:16 PM   #31
bmwconnect
BMW Tuner
 
bmwconnect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullet Ride View Post
Makes sense. Not ideal but that should work relatively well. I'm guessing Alpina did something similar with their old turbo motors.
ya it works better then most would think
bmwconnect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 03:34 PM   #32
jamison67
E30 POWER
 
jamison67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: richmondhill
Posts: 274
alright guys i ran a 1in line of the valve cover to open air and drilled out the restricter and now shes up and running ,no oil leaks from the turbo and she runns pretty good.....the wideband is still jumpin all over the place on idle like 14 to 15 to 16 back to14,,,but under boost shes at a steady number ,,,,i just have to ghetto tune it to hopfully run some decent a/f ratios

thanks for the help guys
jamison67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 03:53 PM   #33
MarkD
Banned
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Your DME!
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullet Ride View Post
Makes sense. Not ideal but that should work relatively well. I'm guessing Alpina did something similar with their old turbo motors.
Which Alpina motor are you referring to? The Alpina B10 bi-turbo (E34) uses the same MAF and DME as the E34 M5, plus a MAP sensor which allows ignition retard and different fueling when in boost.
MarkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 04:17 PM   #34
Bullet Ride
Cars in Perpetual Repair
 
Bullet Ride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Guelph
Posts: 5,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkD View Post
Which Alpina motor are you referring to? The Alpina B10 bi-turbo (E34) uses the same MAF and DME as the E34 M5, plus a MAP sensor which allows ignition retard and different fueling when in boost.
If they had a MAP sensor why did they keep the MAF? All they would have needed was IAT

I'm pretty sure the B7 turbos still used the AFM, did they have a MAP sensor as well?
__________________
Bullet Ride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 05:02 PM   #35
MarkD
Banned
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Your DME!
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullet Ride View Post
If they had a MAP sensor why did they keep the MAF? All they would have needed was IAT

I'm pretty sure the B7 turbos still used the AFM, did they have a MAP sensor as well?
I am sure that the B7 had an AFM. I doubt there is a MAP sensor on that one.

By using a MAF and MAP on the B10, the software could easily use the MAF when not in boost and the MAP just to retard timing and increase fuelling when in boost. This would be the easiest way to adapt the software from the M5 to run the B10 motor without a complete re-write and all the associated testing. Remember, they didn't produce enough of these cars that they would want to develop completely new code with a different control strategy that had not even been used in a Bosch DME before.
The 944 Turbo also uses a similar setup, with a DME for spark and fuel and a KLR to sense knock and boost, and send a signal to the DME to retard timing.
MarkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 05:17 PM   #36
NOTORIOUS VR
6th Gear Member
 
NOTORIOUS VR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,166
VW/Audi/Porsche, etc all still to this day use MAF + MAP as load inputs on boosted engines.

MAP only works well, but MAF's work very well when tuned properly, and I guess you can guess where MAP + MAF gets you.
__________________
E36 DYNO TUNING WIRING PARTS
NOTORIOUS VR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 05:23 PM   #37
MarkD
Banned
 
MarkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: In Your DME!
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOTORIOUS VR View Post
VW/Audi/Porsche, etc all still to this day use MAF + MAP as load inputs on boosted engines.

MAP only works well, but MAF's work very well when tuned properly, and I guess you can guess where MAP + MAF gets you.
That's correct. There is more resolution when using a MAF as you are measuring the exact air mass instead inferring it from MAP, which does not always correlate with the air mass entering the motor. Personally I'd always try to go the MAF + MAP route on a boosted motor.
MarkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 06:29 PM   #38
bmwconnect
BMW Tuner
 
bmwconnect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 912
No matter what setup the stock ecu runs, Afm only, maf only, maf+map.... At the end of the day they are all tune-able for high boost & high hp and in most cases daily driveable without any issues...

Last edited by bmwconnect; 07-22-2010 at 06:45 PM.
bmwconnect is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.