Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name

Welcome to!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2010, 08:11 AM   #1
2nd Gear Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: TORONTO
Posts: 106
Chip Installation

does any one know of a good website with info on how to do this. i found one on pelican but no pics
WUTANGM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 08:53 AM   #2
Bullet Ride
Cars in Perpetual Repair
Bullet Ride's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Guelph
Posts: 5,832
This is for an E36 but the pics of how to remove the chip are the same for the E30 (figures 7-10)

The DME for E30's (at least my car anyways) is located in the glove box. You have to remove the upper plastic pannel to get at it. Also you probably won't have any torx screws that need to be removed (my DME only had tabs that needed to be bent up to remove the cover)

just follow the pelican E30 chip replacement article and use the other link I posted for reference when replacing the chip.

Last edited by Bullet Ride; 06-01-2010 at 09:00 AM.
Bullet Ride is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 10:49 AM   #3
2nd Gear Member
dmytro's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 115
Yeah it is located in your glove box, you need to unscrew 4 (10 or 12mm bolts ) and bend the metal cover clips to open. Depends on the DME (car model) some are made from 2 PCB boards on top of each other....if you have that one you need to separate them in order to access the chip.


The main connector may seem to be stuck, you need to unscrew the the DME first and than remove it at an angle.

If you got 2 PCB boards stacked you might want to take time with it. Top board is held tight by clips and only way to separate it is from "main connector" side with screw driver.
dmytro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 10:54 AM   #4
6th Gear Member
SamE30e's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Milton
Posts: 2,894
One of the ecu's needs to be socketed, I think it might only be for an E though
85 325 - 2.8 PTE6262 VEMS.
SamE30e is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015