Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E30 (1983 - 1991)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2010, 12:57 AM   #1
harhar12
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 9
e30 with m50 swap - cams in, power down!!

help:
I just put schrick cams in my m50 motor....and I am down on power. 4th gear takes a long time to pick up...........like riding in the city, in 5th instead of 3rd, and you go to take off, and it's a dog....

any ideas what the problem could be? engine idles real nice...i don't think timing is the issue?.....what I think is the vanos is not opening up...and advancing the timing....sprocket not sliding on intake cam?
harhar12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 09:18 PM   #2
craz azn
6th Gear Member
 
craz azn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Port Perry
Posts: 7,498
Send a message via MSN to craz azn
Is this your car? http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=133733
__________________

Rippin' Proper | Youtube | Vimeo |
craz azn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 10:42 PM   #3
harhar12
1st Gear Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 9
yes it is............he's mistaken.......it is an m50

we eyeballed the cams....using straight edge.....and ensured they did not move....I believe timing is fine......usually motors pick up power at 3800 to 4000............I believe it is more like 5500 rpm now....when it actually gets going....that sounds like vanos to me.

I am looking for an opinion or two.....

tks
Tom
harhar12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2010, 11:46 AM   #4
e30_kid89
The Afro-stig
 
e30_kid89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: TDot West End
Posts: 4,591
Send a message via MSN to e30_kid89
First thing is I'd absolutely use the locking tool to ensure you've properly set the cams up properly. Also check the vanos is timed/installed properly as well. If the car was fine prior to the cam swap i dobut the vanos is bad.
__________________
e30_kid89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.