Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2010, 09:21 AM   #1
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
Rogers Cap



So I went over the limit. Looks like I'm paying $21 for going 14gB over the limit.

I have Rogers Extreme - 95gB cap

What I used:
Download Usage: 85.58 GB
Upload Usage: 23.51 GB
Total Usage: 109.09 GB
Usage Allowance: 95 GB (97280 MB)

Any other ISP's out there that provide 10mBit download rate with no cap?
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:38 AM   #2
hockeyfan27
5th Gear Member
 
hockeyfan27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Durham Region
Posts: 961
A lot of people were talking about their ISP's here:
http://www.maxbimmer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=129629

I think you can add extra GB for a small fee. (cheaper than paying for it after the fact)
__________________

1998 328ic - Sold
hockeyfan27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 10:14 AM   #3
sirex
King Sirex
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,850
if you go over, you might as well go WAY over.

last time i went over, i downloaded 300 gbs.. you only get a maximum charge of 25$...

but i think they also changed some of the rules for the new year so take a look first.
__________________
sirex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 10:23 AM   #4
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
Rogers just changed the max charge to $50 instead of $25. I just switched to Bell.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 10:53 AM   #5
325isdan
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,164
holy smokes. are you guys downloading movies and music constantly?
325isdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:03 AM   #6
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,368
http://www.connection.ca/index.htm

unlimited download


there bonded ADSL is 24Mbps down and 3.2Mbps up (but at a higher price .. great for businesses)
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:04 AM   #7
ACS_DAN
16/F/Cali
 
ACS_DAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: OJ Didn't Do it.
Posts: 1,312
Send a message via MSN to ACS_DAN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamite View Post
Rogers just changed the max charge to $50 instead of $25. I just switched to Bell.
I heard they were going to do away with that all together, as in charge you for whatever you you use after the limit. In my case it's 60 gigs,
__________________

95 530i|Modifications - Work.
ACS_DAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:19 AM   #8
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamite View Post
Rogers just changed the max charge to $50 instead of $25. I just switched to Bell.
I'm thinking about doing the same. They didn't throw tons of offers at you to stay? That's what happened to me last year when I called to cancel, so I stayed with them.

Which Bell service did you get and how's it performing?
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:30 AM   #9
AMG_POWER
500HP Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,691
yeah im thinking about switching but bell throtles torrents pretty bad... thats kinda stoping me. Where to switch?
__________________
AMG_POWER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:33 AM   #10
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,082
Quote:
Originally Posted by koncise View Post
I'm thinking about doing the same. They didn't throw tons of offers at you to stay? That's what happened to me last year when I called to cancel, so I stayed with them.

Which Bell service did you get and how's it performing?
Ordered Fibe25, I'll tell you on sunday.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:11 PM   #11
Junaid
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 670
i got primus unlimited with 7mbps advertised but realistically you only get 4 mbps and they dont throttle torrents which is a plus. In hamilton i only have 60 gb so i always watch my limit. Try Acanac 5mbps for $18 a month and its unlimited downloading and no ports blocked
__________________


Needs more mods
Junaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:47 PM   #12
2slow2race
6th Gear Member
 
2slow2race's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 1,411
with the speeds that rogers is going now, 60 gigs can go very very fast.
torrents are steady 1.0-1.2 Mbps now.

i think i might have to call rogers and have a little discussion. i dont think im gonna need
over 100gigs a month.
2slow2race is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 12:59 PM   #13
Quack
Wheelman
 
Quack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12,073
Send a message via MSN to Quack
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2slow2race View Post
with the speeds that rogers is going now, 60 gigs can go very very fast.
torrents are steady 1.0-1.2 Mbps now.

i think i might have to call rogers and have a little discussion. i dont think im gonna need
over 100gigs a month.
I go over 100gigs all the time, so I upgraded to Rogers Extreme Plus, 25Mbps down & 1Mbps up, 125gig cap, it's more like 21Mbps down though, very rarely it hits 25Mbps.
__________________

Maxbimmer Drama, You Gotta Love It
Quack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 01:07 PM   #14
koncise
all you need is one mike
 
koncise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 3,545
Send a message via MSN to koncise
If I don't go to Bell, I think I might just downgrade to Rogers Express. Same speeds, but I save $15/month... and since I blow WELL past the monthly limit every month, it'll be the max charge anyway.
__________________
koncise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 02:03 PM   #15
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junaid View Post
i got primus unlimited with 7mbps advertised but realistically you only get 4 mbps and they dont throttle torrents which is a plus. In hamilton i only have 60 gb so i always watch my limit. Try Acanac 5mbps for $18 a month and its unlimited downloading and no ports blocked
they also dont filter anything! .. my father had primus and I had to put the best antivirus on his laptop plus a hardcore firewall just to block out all the crap. Just opening up a browser you would have antivirus warnings popping up of running scripts. There networks are garbage.
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015