Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password

Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 03-02-2010, 04:02 PM   #1
xlash
Still learning....

Insurance Scam??? Please help

Hi everybody,

I am a full-time student at McMaster and opted out of the health insurance plan because I already have coverage. So I did my due diligence, went to the website ihaveaplan.ca and filled in my information and they requested proof of coverage. I photocopied my insurance coverage card and mailed it to ihaveaplan well in advance of the deadline.

I didn't receive a confirmation so I went and spoke to the lady at the student association and she suggested that I wait it out for a week or so as the cheques will be in the mail. Well no cheque arrived so I went back to the lady at the student association and she said I call them directly.

I called then and they said it's too late but I can appeal. So in the first week of November I mailed them a letter (they don't believe in e-mail) and just got a respnse last week saying they will not reimburse the insurance premium because they didn't receive proof of coverage and it's too late.

On calling the service coordinator I got into a verbal tussle with her and her repeated response to whatever I said was "it's the policy".