Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 3 Series > E36 (1991 - 1999)
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2009, 08:37 PM   #1
lvan
6th Gear Member
 
lvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NG, Republica Srpska / Toronto, ON
Posts: 5,164
Send a message via MSN to lvan
AC/Heat 16 button unit

If I am not mistaken 1996+ cars come with 16 button AC/HEAT unit. It looks sort of complicated to me.
How do I make sure to check it properly so I know it is in good working order.
What to look for?
lvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 07:46 AM   #2
LondonWraith
1st Gear Newbie
 
LondonWraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, On
Posts: 42
is the unit still in the car? if it is run through all the heat and a/c cycles. make sure the fan works correctly on all settings, they are known for the capacitor going and the unit turning on and off intermittently
__________________
LondonWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 10:17 AM   #3
lvan
6th Gear Member
 
lvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NG, Republica Srpska / Toronto, ON
Posts: 5,164
Send a message via MSN to lvan
Yup, still in the car. Just want to know what to avoid if I see anything unususal.
lvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 11:58 AM   #4
LondonWraith
1st Gear Newbie
 
LondonWraith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: London, On
Posts: 42
if the fan speed changes without you pressing the button, then the capacitor is fubar. someone has posted a fix for this but you need to take the unit apart and do some soldering. I have to do this myself as my climate control comes on and changes fan speeds whenever it wants.
__________________
LondonWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 01:18 PM   #5
R_JAY
Has the world for ransom
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: K-Dub
Posts: 2,542
You can get a good used one for $80-$100. I got one from Fil @ Eurostyle almost 2 years ago and no probs.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiroE36 View Post
and on a side note, why such a massive vagina flex
R_JAY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.