Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 5 series
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2009, 09:46 AM   #1
mazdaRXwhat
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton
Posts: 173
'03 540i DRL delete

Hey

Probably posting in the wrong forum, but am looking to get my hands on the US spec module for the DRL... more spefically to delete the DRL's on my e39. Anyone know where i can find one?

Thanks
mazdaRXwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 10:24 AM   #2
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,083
You don't need a module, it needs to be reprogrammed with someone with a GT1 computer.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 10:36 AM   #3
mazdaRXwhat
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton
Posts: 173
Thanks!

I guess that begs the next logical question...does anyone on the board have a GT1 computer or know anyone who does it?
mazdaRXwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 10:44 AM   #4
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,083
bimmersport and RMP both have GT1's.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 10:59 AM   #5
mazdaRXwhat
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton
Posts: 173
Awesome!

Thanks a lot!!
mazdaRXwhat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 11:44 PM   #6
porksoda
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamite View Post
You don't need a module, it needs to be reprogrammed with someone with a GT1 computer.
cross in oakville and lakeside also have computer to change option... i am not sure if its gt1 or not.
porksoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 12:07 AM   #7
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,083
It's probably GT1, I think that's the only thing that can do it.
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 12:11 AM   #8
porksoda
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamite View Post
It's probably GT1, I think that's the only thing that can do it.
its the handheld lcd touch screen thingy.

i thought carsoft could do it as well and other car diagnostic software/hardware combos?
porksoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 12:59 AM   #9
Gamite
Moderator
 
Gamite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 21,083
as far as I was concerned, only the GT1 could do it
__________________
www.gamite.net

Gamite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 12:57 PM   #10
j0nblayz
3rd Gear Member
 
j0nblayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: calgary, alberta
Posts: 538
carsoft is unable to do it. My understanding of the process is that gt1 will reset your program to US mode, then the tech will set one by one to canadian specs except for the drl. Thats how my tech explained it. However you could also be ghetto and just pull your bulbs, on my '03 530i i pulled the plugs and it didn't even set off a light out warning on dash. I put the bulbs back in since i rather have high beams though. Gonna do a true drl delete as soon as i upgrade the stock halo's to something brighter like the 60+ led angel eyes..
__________________
j0nblayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 01:12 PM   #11
Dado 540
6th Gear Member
 
Dado 540's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 1,972
Dont you need DRL in order to pass your emission test?
__________________
E39 540i Sport
Dado 540 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 01:41 PM   #12
j0nblayz
3rd Gear Member
 
j0nblayz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: calgary, alberta
Posts: 538
luckly we dont do emission test in alberta..
__________________
j0nblayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 01:43 PM   #13
porksoda
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by j0nblayz View Post
carsoft is unable to do it. My understanding of the process is that gt1 will reset your program to US mode, then the tech will set one by one to canadian specs except for the drl. Thats how my tech explained it. However you could also be ghetto and just pull your bulbs, on my '03 530i i pulled the plugs and it didn't even set off a light out warning on dash. I put the bulbs back in since i rather have high beams though. Gonna do a true drl delete as soon as i upgrade the stock halo's to something brighter like the 60+ led angel eyes..
when i got mine done... you went into car systems electrical...lighting and disabled drl and the lights flashed few times..

none of the us change or whatever.
porksoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 01:44 PM   #14
porksoda
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dado 540 View Post
Dont you need DRL in order to pass your emission test?
drl has nothing to do with emission.

you mean safety... when you do safety technically you need drls to pass it... but no one checks it...

My friend imported a car from us once and i changed his drl relay took me 2 hours in freezing cold and the son of a b**** at crappy tire didn't even check anything just looked at the car and goes passed.
porksoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 10:39 PM   #15
bimmerjoe
Yagerbombs/skanks
 
bimmerjoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: markham
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamite View Post
as far as I was concerned, only the GT1 could do it

and your right.

At bmw where is work they used to run that and now they upgraded there software. now they cant even take my drl's off.
__________________
1999 323i-sold
2001 540i M- Sport
bimmerjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.