Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Classifieds > For Sale > Non-BMW Related
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2009, 02:05 PM   #1
Spoose
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 993
RCA - HD Antenna

Hey guys, as some of you know, I recently got a new LCD tv. When I purchased the tv, they could not give any more discounts on the tv, so instead they reduced some of the other things I was buying, an HD antenna. I bought two thinking that it would work on my older LCD projection tv, but it does not have a ATSC ?? HD Tuner, so it does not get the HD channels.

Here is the link : http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...92&catid=25946

Brand new in the box, never opened. The retail price is $83.99 plus taxes, I am selling for $50. If I don't get it then I will return it.
__________________
Current Rides: 964 C2
Past Rides: 94 318is, 97 M3, 01 C2 Cab, 02 330ci, 06 323i, 05 330cic M Sport, 02 M3
Spoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 09:33 PM   #2
hadesm5
6th Gear Member
 
hadesm5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,798
?
there is no such thing as an HD antenna
__________________
hadesm5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2009, 11:56 PM   #3
Spoose
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 993
I don't know, that's what the guys at Future Shop told me. I get HD channels from it.
__________________
Current Rides: 964 C2
Past Rides: 94 318is, 97 M3, 01 C2 Cab, 02 330ci, 06 323i, 05 330cic M Sport, 02 M3
Spoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2009, 12:34 AM   #4
daytona
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by hadesm5 View Post
?
there is no such thing as an HD antenna

Sure our out door antenna picks up about 12 HD channels from the states.
__________________
.Never banned but came very close..three times
daytona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 01:02 AM   #5
hadesm5
6th Gear Member
 
hadesm5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by daytona View Post
Sure our out door antenna picks up about 12 HD channels from the states.
all channels are broadcast in radio waves so it doesn't really matter whether the channel is HD or not. even a paper clip can catch an HD channel (poorly).

anyhow. didnt mean to bash on OP's product. its good and helps you pickup free HD channels that u wont even get with cable
__________________
hadesm5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 10:40 AM   #6
SUPERCHARGED
5th Gear Member
 
SUPERCHARGED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 930
how many HD channels can this pick up in GTA?
__________________
SUPERCHARGED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 04:50 PM   #7
Spoose
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 993
in my condo, the 12th floor, I get about 14 clear channels on a good day. If you are closer to downtown I think you can get more, but not sure.

BUT your tv has to have a ATSC HD tuner.
__________________
Current Rides: 964 C2
Past Rides: 94 318is, 97 M3, 01 C2 Cab, 02 330ci, 06 323i, 05 330cic M Sport, 02 M3
Spoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 06:31 PM   #8
sirex
King Sirex
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 9,809
This is one of the scams they use.. they sell packaged antennas "HD " antennas so that people spend money- alot of money- for something that is practically, or was practically being thrown away and very very cheap. Any antenna will do to catch HD channels, doesnt need to be special..

That being said, if its a GOOD antenna unit then its worth the money, it will work alot better then any crappy metal rods put together/better focus, etc, whcih means ull catch the channels better..

dont meant to bash the thread either.. nor am i calling his sale a scam.

50$ is a good price.
__________________
sirex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 09:47 AM   #9
propr'one
op sucks cock
 
propr'one's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: T.
Posts: 17,601
Send a message via MSN to propr'one
^^but proper HD antennas will ensure that ghosting doesn't occur. Its true, you CAN catch HD signals with a cheapie antenna. You CAN build a cheapie antenna that works as well as a pricey one from a store. But for 50$, like you said, i'd just buy this.

(or finally call rogers to install a HD digital cable box in my house. Its only been a year, i think i'll wait more)
__________________

Hot: 2001 Estoril M RoadsterZCP 19's, ZHP knob, JL 8W3
Cold: 2002 TiAg M3 6mt ZCP 19's supersports, dechromed, led tails, ZHP knob, UUC short shift GROM, OEM 18's w310's,
http://absolutehid.ca hid kit
propr'one is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 09:08 PM   #10
Oyster
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 645
Send a message via MSN to Oyster
I was looking at OTA (Over the air antenna)

this indoor antenna might be good for condo owners
for older tv, you need an ATSC tuner for about $60
if you have late model tv, they should have ATSC

GTA has about 11 channels
Buffalo about 11-14 channels
__________________
Oyster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 03:29 AM   #11
skperformance
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mississauga,Ont.Can
Posts: 293
The buffalo channels are being phased out such as fox 29 is already.
I refuse to pay rogers to watch commercials. I have 3 indoor antennas with adjustable db boosters and they work fine.
An hd antenna is like saying digital on headphones , it is a complete lie.

This unit is nice and has a clock but i don't even see a booster like most $15 -$30 units which i have. The most expensive one i used was a turk and it sucked as you had to realign it for all stations not from the CN tower. It also cost $150 and it highly praised online .

You won't get $50 so take it back to futureshop like you mentioned.
__________________
R.I.P. Dad, Shabeer Khan 11/09/06
Toronto area Lexus Owners Meet My 98 LS My 94 ES
skperformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2009, 09:39 PM   #12
Spoose
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 993
It has a booster and i still have it. I forgot it was in my car and now i'm past the return period. No biggie, i'll keep it if no one wants it and use on another tv.
__________________
Current Rides: 964 C2
Past Rides: 94 318is, 97 M3, 01 C2 Cab, 02 330ci, 06 323i, 05 330cic M Sport, 02 M3
Spoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.