Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > Misc > Off-topic
User Name
Password


Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 11:50 PM   #1
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
RSS Feed help



looked on google but either I'm burnt out right now or just not getting it. What I basically need is a rss feed to put on my own website just to update news on whats going on.
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 11:51 PM   #2
ZiMMie
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: T-Dot
Posts: 9,970
did u try this?
http://rssfeedreader.com/
__________________
#E36-S54 #CSLWannabe
ZiMMie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:21 AM   #3
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
that gets it though no? i.e. take from BBC or CNN and puts it onto my site. i want to be able to create and update a fresh RSS
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:26 AM   #4
BlitzSix
6 Speed
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,405
Send a message via AIM to BlitzSix Send a message via MSN to BlitzSix
Wait, what exactly are you trying to accomplish? You're not supposed to "update" an RSS feed. You're supposed to update your actual site (blog, or whatever it is), and the RSS feed would just include your latest updates on your site automatically.

What site is this for ?
BlitzSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:33 AM   #5
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzSix View Post
Wait, what exactly are you trying to accomplish? You're not supposed to "update" an RSS feed. You're supposed to update your actual site (blog, or whatever it is), and the RSS feed would just include your latest updates on your site automatically.

What site is this for ?
ahhh i c, so then I was thinking totally wrong.

Basically just looking to update news on my own website for clients and anyone else that visits - sites still under construction so i don't want to post the link to it yet
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:55 AM   #6
BlitzSix
6 Speed
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,405
Send a message via AIM to BlitzSix Send a message via MSN to BlitzSix
Okay, well, if you're using a premade script on it (wordpress or whatever) you can use like www.feedburner.com to do it automatically, I'm not realy sure how that works as I've never actually done it. Wordpress and whatnot probalby has an extension you can download.

If not, then you have to custom code it. There are basically different fields that you just get it to fill in. What I would do is look at an RSS feed of a similar site, and see what attributes it uses. Use the same ones and put your info there. For example I had a video site that had the following code:

PHP Code:
<rss version="2.0">

<channel>

<title>your site title</title>
<description>Desc. of rss feed (put like "10 latest posts " or some shit)</description>
<link>http://www.yoursite.com</link>

<? 
include ("global.php");
$result mysql_query("SELECT vid, vtitle, vthumb, vdate FROM videos WHERE vlive='1' ORDER BY vdate DESC LIMIT 10") or die('Error performing query: ' mysql_error());
while (
$row mysql_fetch_array($result))
{

?>
<item>

        <title><? echo (stripslashes($row['vtitle'])); ?></title>
        <description><? echo (stripslashes($row['vtitle'])); ?></description>
        <link>http://www.yoursite.com/video.php?vid=<? echo ($row['vid']); ?></link>
        <category>Videos</category> 
        <enclosure url="http://www.yoursite.com/vthumbs/<? echo ($row['vthumb']); ?>" type="image/jpeg" /> 
        <thumb>http://www.yoursite.com/vthumbs/<? echo ($row['vthumb']); ?></thumb>
        <thumbnail>http://www.yoursite.com/vthumbs/<? echo ($row['vthumb']); ?></thumbnail>
        <image>http://www.yoursite.com/vthumbs/<? echo ($row['vthumb']); ?></image>
        <pubDate><? echo ($row['vdate']); ?></pubDate>
</item>
<? ?>

</channel>
</rss>
As you can see the include and the query is my code, and then I just made output the 10 latest entries... the . The other attributes are the ones I used for the site, you might have some others if it's a different kind of site. Also as you can see I had some duplicates... like thumb, thumbnail, image, all link to the same file because I'm not sure what the RSS reader uses.

This info might be outdated and the format might be slightly different, but this should point you in the right direction.... all an RSS really is is somethign that grabs the last 10 (or 20 or wahtever) items from your site and puts it ina format such that an RSS reader can pick it up and show it to the user..
BlitzSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 09:34 AM   #7
StikiGreenZ
6th Gear Member
 
StikiGreenZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Milton, ON
Posts: 1,602
Send a message via MSN to StikiGreenZ
An RSS file is simply an XML file with certain rules. All you gotta do is set up a query to your database where your news is stored and set up a loop to output a fresh XML file. You will have to trigger the XML creation (make a button in your news area in your back end that says "update RSS") which will trigger the creation of an updated RSS file.
__________________
-

BMW 645i - Black on Red
Range Rover Sport - Black on Black
StikiGreenZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:07 AM   #8
Blades
Your opinion is to long
 
Blades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 5,366
Also to what BlitzSix has been telling you is that most XML RSS feeds will not give you the full article unless you sign up to there feed and use there RSS reader.

I setup some blog sites where it automatically updates the articles on the blog from RSS feed. I used cformsII, WP-Affiliate,WP-125,Akismet, and Ad sense manager to set up a nice blog.

if your looking for full article RSS feeds .. there hard to find but there are a few out there just look for "content:encoded" when viewing the page source and see if the article is there in the code.
__________________
-=[ BL/\DES ]=-



All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. Thats how far the world is from where i am. just one bad day. - Unknown
Blades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:35 AM   #9
BlitzSix
6 Speed
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,405
Send a message via AIM to BlitzSix Send a message via MSN to BlitzSix
Quote:
Originally Posted by StikiGreenZ View Post
An RSS file is simply an XML file with certain rules. All you gotta do is set up a query to your database where your news is stored and set up a loop to output a fresh XML file. You will have to trigger the XML creation (make a button in your news area in your back end that says "update RSS") which will trigger the creation of an updated RSS file.
The way I did it I never had to manually trigger anything. I just had the file rss.php so when you goto site.com/rss.php it would simply query the database and grab the latest info. I guess you can make it so that it makes a new xml file when you update it, so it doesn't query it each time someone goes to rss.php too though.
BlitzSix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:04 PM   #10
TNation
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto/Calgary
Posts: 1,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by StikiGreenZ View Post
An RSS file is simply an XML file with certain rules. All you gotta do is set up a query to your database where your news is stored and set up a loop to output a fresh XML file. You will have to trigger the XML creation (make a button in your news area in your back end that says "update RSS") which will trigger the creation of an updated RSS file.
you took all the words out of my mouth haha perfect.
TNation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 01:07 PM   #11
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by StikiGreenZ View Post
An RSS file is simply an XML file with certain rules. All you gotta do is set up a query to your database where your news is stored and set up a loop to output a fresh XML file. You will have to trigger the XML creation (make a button in your news area in your back end that says "update RSS") which will trigger the creation of an updated RSS file.
thanks sandeep
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 01:08 PM   #12
Jim .E.
E90 n00b
 
Jim .E.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brampton
Posts: 6,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlitzSix View Post
Okay, well, if you're using a premade script on it (wordpress or whatever) you can use like www.feedburner.com to do it automatically, I'm not realy sure how that works as I've never actually done it. Wordpress and whatnot probalby has an extension you can download.

If not, then you have to custom code it. There are basically different fields that you just get it to fill in. What I would do is look at an RSS feed of a similar site, and see what attributes it uses. Use the same ones and put your info there. For example I had a video site that had the following code:

PHP Code:
<rss version="2.0">

<channel>

<title>your site title</title>
<description>Desc. of rss feed (put like "10 latest posts " or some shit)</description>
<link>http://www.yoursite.com</link>

<? 
include ("global.php");
$result mysql_query("SELECT vid, vtitle, vthumb, vdate FROM videos WHERE vlive='1' ORDER BY vdate DESC LIMIT 10") or die('Error performing query: ' mysql_error());
while (
$row mysql_fetch_array($result))
{

?>
<item>

        <title><? echo (stripslashes($row['vtitle'])); ?></title>
        <description><? echo (stripslashes($row['vtitle'])); ?></description>
        <link>http://www.yoursite.com/video.php?vid=<? echo ($row['vid']); ?></link>
        <category>Videos</category> 
        <enclosure url="http://www.yoursite.com/vthumbs/<? echo ($row['vthumb']); ?>" type="image/jpeg" /> 
        <thumb>http://www.yoursite.com/vthumbs/<? echo ($row['vthumb']); ?></thumb>
        <thumbnail>http://www.yoursite.com/vthumbs/<? echo ($row['vthumb']); ?></thumbnail>
        <image>http://www.yoursite.com/vthumbs/<? echo ($row['vthumb']); ?></image>
        <pubDate><? echo ($row['vdate']); ?></pubDate>
</item>
<? ?>

</channel>
</rss>
As you can see the include and the query is my code, and then I just made output the 10 latest entries... the . The other attributes are the ones I used for the site, you might have some others if it's a different kind of site. Also as you can see I had some duplicates... like thumb, thumbnail, image, all link to the same file because I'm not sure what the RSS reader uses.

This info might be outdated and the format might be slightly different, but this should point you in the right direction.... all an RSS really is is somethign that grabs the last 10 (or 20 or wahtever) items from your site and puts it ina format such that an RSS reader can pick it up and show it to the user..
gonna give this a try thanks
Jim .E. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Maxbimmer Copyright 2001 - 2015