Click to go to Forum Home Click to go to maXbimmer Home

Go Back   maXbimmer Forums > maXimum Tech > 5 series
User Name
Password

Welcome to Maxbimmer.com!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

Old 10-25-2008, 11:55 PM   #1
richmak
4th Gear Member

What's wrong? Can't remove the wheels on my E39.

Need some advice here.

This is my first time changing the wheels on my 525iT. Don't take me wrong I have changed my summer/winter setup many times on my E46 convertible so I kind of know I am doing.

Today I prepared my winter set of wheels and I thought I was ready to change the wheels/tires on my wagon. I started with the left-front wheel ... loose the bolts, jack up the car, remove all 5 bolts ... and damn, I cannot remove the wheel from the hub. It's almost like something else is still locking the wheel. I tried shaking it, slamming and kicking the wheels hoping it is just seized ... no luck. I put back the bolts and tried the right-front wheel ... same result.

This car has just been fully inspected by a BMW dealer 2 months ago and I don't believe the wheel is seized ... must be something else.

Any ideas folks? Thanks in advance.
richmak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 12:14 AM   #2
Eurostyle
MaXsponsor

If you have all 5 bolts off, then thats IT, the wheels are just stuck. One SURE way off getting them off; put the bolts back on, but not all the way in (about 1 turn away), take the car out for a ride and make a sharp turn, you will feel the wheel snap off, at this point SLOWLY take the car back and remove the wheel, repeat for all seized rims!